EARLY MEDWAY SETTLERS & LAND RECORDS
By Francis D. Donovan
THE LAND GRANTS OF 1649
In 1649, Dedham settlers resolved to establish a new settlement in the Boggestowe area at East Holliston. Two grants of land were asked for and received.
One, on Dedham's north bound, three miles east and west, and four miles north and south, was granted by Dedham.
The Great and General Court made another grant west of the Charles River of precisely the same dimensions, but when this second tract was laid out in 1650, the west boundary line north and south was only three and one-quarter miles long instead of the four miles granted.
This reduced the acreage, but was accepted by the interested parties.
These two grants on both sides of the river were incorporated in 1650 as Meadfield or as we know it, Medfield.
In 1713, the part just west of the river was a part of the new town of Medway, and was always called the "Old Grant," and is now generally the Town of Millis, once East Medway.
The first settler in this part of Medfield was George Fairbanks of Dedham, who came here in 1658.
In 1702, there were only twenty-five settlers on the west bank of the river, all living in the Old Grant, excepting Henry Garnsey who located to the west.
THE NEW GRANT OF 1659
Medfield, owner of lands on both sides of the river, did not receive the full acreage of the first grant from the General Court due to errors in laying out the area.
Therefore, Medfield petitioned for additional lands, and the General Court of Massachusetts added another parcel measuring two miles east and west, and four miles north and south, known as the New Grant.
As the west end of the Old Grant, which was to be the easterly boundary of the New Grant, was only about 3-1/4 miles long, it was manifestly impossible to make the new tract four miles long. The surveyors, Captain Lusher, and Lieutenant Fisher of Dedham, therefore made the north line two miles wide, but ran the west side so that it was about two and one-half miles wide where it reached the river to the south.
The result was a trapezoid, wider at the base than at the top. The lots on the south of the east and west sections were thus about one and one-quarter miles long, instead of the granted one mile width.
The north side of this new area was a continuationof the north line of the Old Grant, extending two miles, and dividing Winthrop's Pond, an area now wholly in Holliston.
The south bound was the Charles River, and the west line was along what is now Summer Street.
The present Medway-Milford town line, and the Medway-Holliston town line were created in an exchange of lands with Holliston between 1829 and 1832.
The first dividing line between the two grants started at the extreme northwest corner of the present Town of Millis, running south straight to the present junction of Oakland and Village Streets in Medway.
For over two centuries, all farms on the west, and swamp lots on the east were bounded by this "Old Grant" line.
Medfield, on receiving this grant, determined to divide it among her almost fifty proprietors. The locations were to be assigned by lot, and the amount of land given each one was based on their estate and family size.
Consequently, John Thurston Sr., with an estate of some worth and a family of ten, drew the largest lot of 191 acres, while David Morse, who had two years previously moved from Medfield to "The Farms" - now Sherborn, had only twelve acres, a lot a little more than a mile long, and only some four rods wide.
The New Grant was laid out in three sections, divided by contemplated highways.
The River Section to the south was half a mile wide with the old Middle Road running along its northern boundary.
Another road running from the Middle Road to Winthrop's Pond still further divided the territory, forming the east and west sections of the Grant. This configuration of roads resembled an upside-down letter T.
The order of division was to lay out north and south lines in the River Section, and east and west lot lines in the east and west sections. All lot measurements were to commence at the extreme east of the River Section.
The two roads laid out at the time of laying out the east and west sections (our present Village Street and part of Pond Street) were not passable for several years, existing only on paper. The road to Winthrop's Pond is our Pond Street, part of Lovering Street, and Allen's Lane, running from Hill Street to the house of Josiah Tingley. (This is now Howe Street in part).
The Middle Road - not to be confused with the the Middle Post Road, Village Street, was in part Vine Lane (part of which is now Kelley Street), Evergreen, and Oak Streets, and a part of Highland Street. At one time, Oak Street crossed Highland Street - the old "King's Highway" - a section that is now abandoned.
The "Old Post Road," also known as the "Old Mendon Road," and the "Middle Post Road" is now our Village Street. It was made a way very soon after the Grant was made, and in 1670, it became a County road.
In attempting to lay out the extreme east end of the Middle Road, the surveyors met with serious obstacles in the form of the Lily Pond and swamp back of the present location of Oakland Cemetery.
They reported that the best course was to cross the Wheelock lot to John Metcalf's side line, ascending the hill by the river (now Village Hill), then turn down by John Metcalf's side line to the other way at the head of his lot.
This is now Lover's Lane, and marks the dividing line between Lot 1 and 2, River Section.
Medfield paid 19 pounds, 16 shillings and 5 pence for the surveyor's work, rather a bargain for the work entailed.
Following is the result of the lot assignments.
|Lot No.||Proprietor||No. Acres|
|6.||Thomas Wight Jr||56|
|Lot No.||Proprietor||No. Acres|
|13.||Widow Hannah Boyden & Joseph Morse Heirs||141|
|30.||*John Frairy Jr.||177|
|31.||Rev. John Wilson||147|
|Lot No||Proprietor||No. Acres|
|35.||John Frairy Sr.||147|
|37.||Thomas Wight Sr.||166|
(*Occupied later by second or third generations)
As the east section was larger by reason of the angle of the north boundary, almost 300 acres were left undivided. This area and the George Barber lot are now a part of Holliston.
The three upper lots in the west section are now a part of Holliston also.
None of the original lot assignees ever occupied their lands; they either sold or gave their property away.
In 1706, Captain John Whiting bought a grist mill and some land on both sides of the river, from five Medfield owners. After 1710, his son Nathaniel acquired all of the west part of the Wheelock lot and most of the John Metcalf No. 2 river section lot.
In 1715, Abraham Harding was deeded about 70 acres on the "Flat" east of the Clark holdings extending to the present Millis town line at Farm Street.
In 1727, Theophilus Clark deeded 110 acres on both sides of the New and Old Grant line. His holdings ended at what is now Peach Street in Medway Village.
Our Lovers Lane was the dividing line between Lots 1 and 2.
The Clark lands, owned by Timothy and Theophilus east of the Old Grant line were holdings acquired by their grandfather Joseph Clark at the "bent of the river"in part, and included 77 acres of the Wheelock lot.
The first settler in the New Grant was Henry Garnsey of Roxbury who married in this year, Sarah Wheelock of Medfield, grandaughter of Ralph Wheelock.
Henry Garnsey owned Lot No. 8, River Section, granted to John Turner. His lot laid on both sides of Chicken Brook, with its east bound at the present Cottage Street.
No deeds are on record to show how he acquired this lot.
He was Selectman in 1717, and died in 1759 aged 80, and is buried in the old burying ground at Chicken Brook in Evergreen Cemetery.
His dwelling stood near the original junction of Village and Cottage Streets, when Cottage Street went straight through, instead of bending westerly and southerly as at present. The site of his house is marked by a partial foundation and cellar hole just south of the former railroad grade, preserved by the Medway Historical Commission.
His son Samuel settled at what is now the intersection of High, Village and Lincoln Streets, and his well, and a huge oak tree marked the site until around 1930.
The U S Census of 1790 gives no head of a family named Garnsey in Massachusetts.
Guernsey Street, unfortunately misnamed, commemorates Henry Garnsey.
Henry's wife Sarah died in 1716, and Hannah, Henry's second wife died in 1721.
Henry Garnsey's gravestone record gives his year of death as 1759, and his age as 80 years.
|Bette||1705||m. 1729 Joseph Partridge|
|Experience||1715||m. 1733 Eliphalet Ware|
|Hannah||1718||m. 1736 Ebenezer Haywood|
Theophilus-3 (Benjamin-2, Joseph-1) Clark, born in Medfield in 1670, married Rachel Partridge around 1694.
By 1702, he was settled on the Wheelock Lot No. 1 in both the Old and New Grants.
His dwelling stood at the northeast corner of the present intersection of Village and School Streets in Medway, and his lands extended westerly as far as the present Peach Street, and to the east as far as the present Walker Street.
He owned 110 acres in all.
His wife Rachel died in 1717, and he married second, in 1718, Elizabeth Cutler, widow of Nathaniel Cutler of Reading, who brought three sons with him to Medway.
Theophilus built and ran the "Bent Sawmill" a little south of his dwelling across the Mendon road.
He served as Selectman in 1714 and 1722, and was on the town committees involved in building the meeting house in the Old Grant on Bare Hill (opposite the head of Pleasant Street in what is now Millis), and securing a minister.
The first "warning out of town" took place in 1733 at Theophilus Clark's house, when Constable Edward Clark warned a Mary Burrit, possibly a servant, to depart from Medway.
Theophilus was called "Lieutenant" in the town records.
The original layout of Candlewood Island Road, now Oakland Street, ran easterly of his dwelling.
About 1733, he removed to Ashford, Connecticut, where he died in 1737. The year he died, he deeded his 110 acres in Medway to Jacob Parker and Thomas Corbin who later sold off the land in parcels to Medway residents.
A part of this land, including the dwelling and mill, were bought by his nephew and namesake Theophilus Clark in 1737.
|Mary||1710||m. 1738 William Provence|
|Abigail||1712-1794||m. 1733 Jonathan Cutler|
In his 1737 will Theophilus mentioned all of his children except Zebiah. No further record of her exists after her birth. It is probable that she died young.
We are still in the year 1702, and now take notice of Timothy-3 (Benjamin-2, Joseph-1) Clark, born in Medfield in 1677, and who had land at the Bent of the river.
His place was in the Old Grant.
In 1702, he started an "ordinary," and was the first innkeeper in Medway. His tavern was on the site of the later Dr. Emerson place on the Flat in Medway, located about where the present No. 54 Village Street dwelling stands.
Mr. Clark enjoyed a good patronage, for his place was the only one between Medfield and Mendon.
His inn was torn down around 1800 by his great-grandson Clark Walker, where Mr. Walker built the "fine mansion" that burned in 1904, when the Emerson dwelling was built.
Timothy Clark was also called "Captain" in the records, was a Constable of Medfield in 1711, and was Selectman in 1719 in Medway.
In 1721, he brought the first tea set into Medway.
At his death in 1725, he was a wealthy man for his day, and owned many tracts of land in Medway, and land on that part of Wrentham later Franklin across the Charles River.
Captain Timothy was twice married - first in 1700 to Elizabeth Pratt who died in 1702, and second to Sarah Metcalf who outlived him, dying in 1762.
He is buried in the old cemetery on Bare Hill in Millis.
|Timothy||1706-1761||m. (1) 1728 Elizabeth Harding|
|m. (2) 1730 Abigail Bullard|
|m. (3) 1740 Margaret Whiting|
|Beriah||1711-||m. 1731 Daniel Sumner of Milford|
|Joseph||1714-1746||m. 1732 Hannah Dwight|
|Theophilus||1716-1760||m. 1740 Experience Wheeler|
|Lydia||1719-1802||m. 1740 Thomas Metcalf|
|Mary||1723-||m. 1745 Mathew Proven|
|Silence||1725-||m. 1745 John Adams (?)|
In this year, Benjamin Clark of Medfield deeded to his son Edward one-half of his quarter of a grist mill on the Charles River.
This proves that the mill, on the site of the later Sanford Mill, was in operation at this early time.
In 1706, Deacon John Whiting of Wrentham paid 48 pounds for this mill with land on both sides of the river in Medfield and Wrentham.
The grantors were Benjamin and Edward Clark, one quarter; Joseph Metcalf, one quarter; Isaac Wheeler, one quarter, and Eleazer Ellis, one quarter.
With the exception of Edward Clark, these men, all of Medfield, were the builders of the grist mill. None of them ever lived in Medway.
The property was described as "All our rights, title, and interest in a grist mill and lands appertaining, with the irons, stones, dam, housing, and implements in and about the mill. Said mill standing upon Charles River in Medfield and upstream said River from a place commonly known as 'The Bent of the River.'"
The Flat in Medway at the bottom of Village Hill was always called "The Bent."
From this came the "Bent Bridge" at Walker Street, and "Bent Street" in the Populatic Lake section known as "Latic."
Soon after Deacon Whiting bought this property, the later site of the Sanford Mills, he put his son Nathaniel in charge.
The Deacon was born in Wrentham in 1690, and in 1710, he married Margaret Mann, daughter of Rev. Samuel Mann of Wrentham. He then built a dwelling east of the mill that burned in 1811.
The Whitings were a race of millers - Nathaniel-1 in Dedham, John-2 in Wrentham, and Nathaniel-3 in Medway New Grant.
Deacon Whiting was a Captain, and served in the French and Indian Wars. He was Selectman for several years, and was a prime mover in the establishment of the new precinct of 1749.
He was an original member and Ruling Elder in the Second Church, owned several slaves, amassed a comfortable fortune for his day, and settled his two sons in mills of their own.
The Deacon died in in 1779 aged 88, and is buried in the old cemetery in West Medway.
His wife died in 1775 aged 84.
|Esther||1710-1770||m. 1732 Nathaniel Clark|
|Margaret||1715-1798||m. 1740 Lt. Timothy Clark|
|Nathan||1725-1790||m. 1749 Mary Metcalf|
|Nathaniel||1725-1770||m. 1762 Lydia Partridge|
Captain Whiting acquired the west part of Lot No. 1 granted Ralph Wheelock, and much of John Metcalf's Lot No. 2. He also owned parcels across the river in Wrentham.
Malachi-3 (Benjamin-2, Robert-1) Bullard, born in Sherborn in 1656, acquired Lot No. 37, East Section, granted to Thomas Wight, Sr., through his wife Bethiah Wight of Medfield. Malachi married Bethiah in 1708.
In 1721, Hopestill Leland of Sherborn sold the south half of Lot No. 36 to his heirs for 25 pounds. This gave him a lot and a half containing 241 acres. A part of this land continued in the Bullard family as a farm until 1885.
When Malachi Bullard settled here, he had no neighbors within a distance of a mile or more.
Coffee Street, called in 1735 "The way to the Meeting House" went along the south border of his farm.
He served as Selectman three years.
He died in 1726, aged only 40 years, and when his sons became of age, his large farm was divided.
His widow outlived him by thirty years, dying in 1756.
|Malachi||1710-1782||m. 1731 Rachel Hill|
|Kezia||1711-1802||m. 1729 James Partridge|
|Elisha||1714||m. 1736 Bathsheba Fisher|
|Ebenezer||1717||poss. died young|
Note: Coffee Street, part of the old "Way to the Meeting House" crossed what is now Main Street and Oakland Street, and went up to Stoney Plain by a now-abandoned Cedar Street. It intersected the present Farm Street in Millis at the original Putnam Clark place, now gone.
This accounts for the sharp turn of Farm Street on Stoney Plain; this was where Farm Street intersected Cedar Street.
Benoni-3 (John-2, John-1) Partridge, born in Medfield in 1687, married in 1709, Mehitable Wheelock, also of Medfield. Mehitable was a sister of Henry Garnsey's first wife.
Benoni settled on land bought by his father from Elizabeth Shrimpton in 1708 at the corner of Winthrop and Partridge Streets.
This tract of land owned by Seth Partridge and Daniel Adams contained about 400 acres. It was bounded south by the Jonathan Adams lot No. 20, and Joseph Clark's lot No. 24 on the north. Thus it was three lots - 21, 22, and 23 in extent, containing 196 acres.
In 1672, Robert Hinsdell of Medfield conveyed by deed to Samuel Shrimpton, husband of Elizabeth, four lots in the New Grant. These were the three above mentioned, and his own Lot No. 25, north of Joseph Clark's, containing 157 acres.
No deed from Mrs. Shrimpton has been found for this Hinsdell lot, and it must be presumed that after Messrs. Partridge and Adams discovered the size of their holding in her deeded three lots, they claimed the other also.
As Joseph Barber had acquired the whole of the Clark lot No. 24, their holdings were expanded.
Some arrangement must have been effected by these three men without any deeds being recorded, for they used and deeded the south half of the Clark lot No. 24, of 80 acres in extent, while Joseph Barber settled his sons on the Hinsdell lot No. 25 north of him.
Benoni Partridge's father deeded him the lot his house stood on some five years after he settled here. His original dwelling was almost due south from Daniel Adams near the Pine Hill Road (Winthrop Street) laid out many years later.
His place ran up to the Barber line, taking in about one third of the south half of Lot No.24 - the middle third.
While Benoni was a man of standing in the settlement, he held no town office.
He died in 1769, his wife died in 1761.
His farm was divided between his sons Timothy and Moses, while his son Preserved settled over the line in Holliston.
One of his nine sons - Thomas - born in 1711, cannot be traced, and probably died young.
Benoni's land holdings were not as long as those of his neighbors, but his family was a prosperous one.
|Preserved||1709-||m. 1737 Catherine Armstrong|
|Seth||1713-1786||m. 1740 Ruth Bullen|
|Joseph||1715-1753||m. 1747 Mary Sheffield|
|David||1718-1742||m. Mehitable -|
|Sarah||1724-1787||m. 1744 Obidiah Adams|
|Timothy||1727-1787||m. Abigail Baker|
|Eli||1729-||m. Rachel Sheffield|
|Moses||1733-1804||m. 1755 Rachel Thayer|
Daniel-4 (John-3, Edward-2, Henry-1) Adams, born in 1686 at the home place on "the Neck" in the Old Grant, settled on the west part of the three lots in the West Section, bought by himself and John Partridge of Madam Shrimpton four years previous.
He built a rude hovel to live in while he cleared the land, situated in the southwest corner of the present intersection of Lovering and Winthrop Streets, on the west bank of Chicken Brook. All traces of his dwelling, still visible in the 1930's, have been obliterated.
He went to his nearest neighbor, Malachi Bullard for his weekly bread supply each Saturday.
Some time before 1713, he married Sarah Sanford, daughter of Deacon Thomas Sanford of Mendon.
When Lovering Street was laid out in 1738, it passed along the entire length of the north boundary of his lot.
Daniel Adams held no town office, but was an industrious and worthy citizen of his town. There are indications that for many years, he cultivated an apple orchard on his farm, the first in this area.
He and his wife both died in 1772, and are buried in the old ground in West Medway.
The farm was divided between sons Thomas and Moses after Daniel's death.
|Sarah||1714-1716||Drowned in spring.|
|Deborah||1717||m. 1739 Joseph Metcalf|
|Elizabeth||1721-||m. 1743 Samuel Daniels, Jr.|
|Thomas||1726-1773||m. 1748 Mary Partridge|
|Ruth||1729-||m. 1750 Benjamin Rockwood|
|Moses||1731-1815||m. 1758 Rachel Leland|
|Abigail||1736-1819||m. 1757 Lt. Abraham Harding|
|Tabitha||1738-1798||m. 1759 John Littlefield|
Joseph Curtis of Sudbury, a brother of Mrs. Curtis Abigail Goulding of Sherborn, and a probable son of Ephraim Curtis of Sudbury, married Hannah Fairbanks, grandaughter of the first settler on Medway soil.
In 1711, he bought Lot No. 46, East Section, granted to Peter Adams, of John Partridge Jr., and Ann Partridge, grandchildren.
This lot was on the north east of the Grant, and contained 101 acres. It descended from father to son and was owned by the family for nearly two centuries, and in late years was known as the Ham Claflin place.
His dwelling, now gone, stood on the crest of a knoll just southerly of the intersection of Hill and Holliston Streets. The present dwelling on the site of the old, was built by "Old Joe" Curtis, Joseph Curtis' son, shortly before he died in 1791.
In 1856, the acreage was intact, and was taxed on 100 acres by Medway.
Mr. Curtis's wife died in 1738, and he married second, around 1741, Mary Bullen of Medfield.
Joseph Curtis died in 1754, and his widow died in 1779 aged 81.
|Abigail||1717-1807||m. 1759 William Richardson|
|Joseph||1725-1791||m. 1757 Rachel Daniels|
Eleazer-4 (John-3, Edward-2, Henry-1) Adams, born in the Old Grant in 1687, a brother of Daniel, settled near his brother in the northern "Mucksquit" section of Medway.
He owned the southwest part of Lot No. 24 at one time, along with considerable acreage south of his brother's farm.
No records of the deeds to his lands exist, so their position and extent can only be determined from their disposition. His dwelling was to the southwest of his brother Daniels' place, and closer to the then west section westerly boundary. The cellar hole of his dwelling was also visible through the late 1920's on the Jonathan Adams Lot No.20.
He was twice married, but there is no record of the name of either wife, excepting that the first wife was a Margaret who died in 1769, and his second wife's first name was Lucy.
Eleazer Adams was a prosperous citizen, served as Selectman for eight years, and was a soldier in the French and Indian Wars. He too cultivated fruit trees, producing pears and apples.
He was a Baptist, and was probably the first such in the New Grant. In 1759, he was arrested and taken from his home and imprisoned for refusing to pay his ministerial tax to the Second Church in Medway.
He was described in the writ as "an ancient man, a substantial freeholder in Medway, a constant attendant for several years past at the Baptist Meeting in Bellingham."
He died in 1775, aged 88.
His sons John and Eleazer inherited the home place.
|Eleazer||1720-1775||m. 1745 Bathsheba Barber|
|Mary||1722||m. 1742 Jonathan Metcalf|
|John||1729||m. (1st) 1745 Silence Clark|
|m. (2nd) 1770 Zilpah Daniels|
|Lois||1732||m. (1st) 1755 Ebenezer Allen|
|m. (2nd) 1761 James Stewart|
Abraham-4 (Abraham-3, Abraham-2, John-1) Harding, born in 1691 in the first framed house on the west side of the river, at Village and Main Streets in Millis, was in 1715 deeded about 70 acres of land near Populatic Pond in the Old Grant.
This was in part the later James Sherry farm on the Flat, now the area about No. 27 Village Street.
The place was owned by his descendants until his grandson Seth Harding drowned in Populatic Pond in 1826.
In 1715, Abraham Harding married Mrs. Elizabeth Garnsey.
Two of his sons settled in the New Grant.
With his nearest neighbor Timothy Clark, Abraham also owned a large parcel of the land near Populatic Pond in Wrentham, later Franklin.
The ell to the present house was the orignal dwelling, and the larger house was built by Abraham Harding's son Abraham around 1755.
The first school kept in the present town of Medway was at Abraham Harding's house. In 1718, ten shillings were voted for a school "to be kept at the Bent of the River." In the same year, nine shillings and eight pence were voted to be paid to Ruth Harding, wife of Abraham, for keeping the school.
Mr. Harding was Selectman in 1728, and died in 1768.
|Seth||1717-||m. 1744 Experience Hill|
|Job||1719-1754||m. 1748 Dorothy Ellis|
|Ichabod||1722-1794||m. 1746 Hannah Bullen|
|Deborah||1724-||m. 1749 Daniel Penniman|
|Ruth||1728-1796||m. 1759 James Wight|
|Abraham||1730-1819||m. 1757 Abigail Adams|
Obidiah-4 (John-3, Edward-2, Henry-1) Adams, born in Medfield in 1689, settled on Lot No. 17, West Section granted his grandfather Edward.
His dwelling was on the north side of what is now Adams Street, about half-way between Winthrop and Summer Streets, and the place was owned by his descendants for over a century and a half.
It was later known as the Groehl place, and only some lilacs and a cellar hole now remain to mark the site.
In 1716, he married Christian Sanford of Mendon, sister of his brother Daniel's wife Sarah.
Three of his sons settled in other towns, and his farm was divided between his sons Nathan and Stephen.
He died in 1765, his widow in 1777.
|David||1716-||Settled in Spencer, Mass.|
|Obidiah||1721-1803||m. 1744 Sarah Partridge & settled in Bellingham|
|Nathan||1723-1800||m. 1750 Kezia Thompson|
|Jesse||1727-1797||m. 1773 Thankful Watkins & settled in Holliston|
|Stephen||1729-1895||m. 1773 Mary Littlefield|
|Christian||1732-||m. 1751 Moses Hill of Holliston|
|Hepzibah||1735-1807||m. 1758 Stephen Metcalf of Bellingham|
|Jemima||1737-||m. 1757 William Fisk of Upton|
Jonathan-3 (John-2, John-1) Partridge, born 1693 in Medfield, brother of Benoni, bought Lot No. 35, East Section, and the south half of Lot No. 36.
Jonathan was the son of John Partridge, first schoolmaster in the Old Grant. The site of his farm was that of the later Blake and Pelletier places at the southeast corner of Holliston and Coffee Streets.
His land was bounded on the north by Malachi Bullard.
The continuation of Coffee Steet and the east portion of Lovering Street laid out in 1737 was on his north line. The records show that Jonathan Partridge gave his part of the road one rod wide, but Malachi and Elisha Bullard demanded 45 shillings for their portion.
Jonathan married first, in 1717, Elizabeth Learned of Framingham, who died in 1738. He married second, in 1739, Ann Phipps. Ann died in 1749, and Jonathan married his third wife, Abigail Lovit of Sherborn, said to be of Medway.
Jonathan was a member of the First Baptist Church in Boston. In 1747, he sold the east part of his 160-acre farm to his brother James and removed to Sherborn.
In 1752, he moved to Barre, Mass., where he died around 1758.
Of his children, 13 were born in Medway, 5 in sherborn, and 2 in Barre.
|Martha||1718-||m. 1740 John Hucker|
|Elizabeth||1720-||m. 1738 Samuel Hill|
|Huldah||1722-||m. 1740 Joseph Hill|
|Jonathan||1724||m. 1756 Kezia Hastings (Barre)|
|Mary||1726-||m. 1748 Thomas Adams|
|Ede||1727-||m. 1750 Nathan Bullard|
|Hannah||1729-||m. 1751 Simon Leland|
|Joseph||1732-||m. 1756 Mary Rice (Guilford, VT)|
|Silas||1737||Res. Peru, Mass.|
|Thaddeus||1739-1827||m. (1st) 1763 Kezia Harding (Barre)|
|m. (2nd) 1766 Thankful Adams (Barre)|
James-3 (John-2, John-1) Clark, was born 1687 at the "Brick Yard Farm" in the Old grant (near the later Herter residence on Causeway Street in Millis).
In 1718, he settled in the Mucksquit section of North Medway on the 100 acres bought by himself and the father of John Partridge in 1708 of Elizabeth Plimpton - the east part of Lots 21, 22, 23 and 24, in the West Section.
His farm was bounded on the north by Joseph Barber, who owned the north half of the Joseph Clark lot, west by David and Eleazer Adams, and east by "the Pond Road" (Pond Street). Later, his land went as far south as as Nathaniel Partridge's Lot No. 19.
He married Mary Fisher, daughter of Jonathan of the Old Grant.
James Clark served in the French and Indian Wars.
Before he died in 1768, he divided his farm between his two sons, James receiving the west portion, and Asa the east half.
|Mary||1718-||m. 1738 Mrs. Mary Proven|
|Marsa||1721-||m. 1745 Mathew Proven|
|James||1725-1786||m. 1758 Martha Smith|
|Rachel||1729-||m. 1760 John Dean|
|Asa||1731-1810||m. 1754 Betsey Barstow|
Note: James Clark willed his lands in Holliston to son James, and those in Medway to son Asa. He owned two of the islands in Winthrop's Pond, of which he apparently made no disposition.
Joseph-3 (Joseph-2, John-1) Ellis, born in Medfield 1691, settled on the River Section of the New Grant in 1718, on Lot No. 10.
This was his grandfather's grant, and was conveyed to him by deed of his father in this year. The farm contained 125 acres.
His dwelling was but a short distance west of Henry Garnsey, the pioneer settler in our territory.
This was an Ellis place until 1783 when it was sold to Jabez Shumway.
The Second Church on Rabbit Hill stands on what was once Ellis land.
In 1719, Joseph Ellis married Thamerson (Thamazin) Adams, daughter of Lt. Jonathan Adams of the Old Grant.
He held no town offices, and died in 1757.
|William||1722-||m. 1750 Mary Walker|
|Thamazin||1725-||m. 1760 Samuel Darling|
|Elisha||1729-||m. 1754 Dinah Pond|
|Jonathan||1731-||m. 1757 Mary Keith|
|Elizabeth||1732-1800||m. 1758 Ebenezer Sumner of Milford|
|Lydia||1734-||m. 1753 Joshua Fairbanks|
|Hannah||1741-||m. 1762 Ebenezer Hayward|
David-3 (John-2, Samuel-1) Bullen, born in Medfield in 1694 settled on Lot No. 28, West Section, granted to his grandfather Samuel.
In 1725, his mother, Judith Bullen of Medfield deeded him two lots, No. 28 of Samuel Bullen, and Lot No. 29 of Abiel Wight, 174 acres in both.
He married first, in 1718, Abigail Dana, who died in 1736, and married second, in 1737, Abigail Corning. It cannot be determined if Abigail Corning was a widow or daughter of Samuel Corning.
In 1738, he headed the petition to have Lovering Street laid out to accomdate the dwellers of the Mucksquit Section of North Medway.
|Abigail||1719-||m. 1744 Thomas Tenney|
|Judah||1722-1788||m. 1742 Daniel Richardson|
|Hannah||1729-1791||m. 1746 Ichabod Harding|
Ebenezer-3 (Nathaniel-2, James-1) Allen, born in Medfield in 1694 was this year deeded Lot No. 11, River Section, granted to James Allen, his grandfather.
In 1719, he married Mary Hill, daughter of a near neighbor across the line in Sherborn.
There is no deed or record to show that he purchased Lot No. 12, granted to Joseph Thurston, half a mile long, and containing only 15 acres, but it belonged to his farm from the beginning.
His dwelling was on the Old Mendon Road very close to the Bellingham line, probably between Village and Main Streets. This place continued in the Allen family until after 1820.
Ebenezer served in the French and Indian Wars, died in 1778, and was buried in one of the two tombs in the old graveyard in West Medway, of which no trace now remains.
His widow Mary died in 1785.
|Martha||1720-||m. 1743 Edmund Rawson of Uxbridge|
|Mary||1722-||m. 1745 Abner Rawson|
|Seth||1726-||m. 1753 Elizabeth Guild|
|Ebenezer||1728-1757||m. 1755 Lois Adams|
|Rachel||1732-||m. 1754 James Morse|
|Leah||1734-||m. 1758 David Farnum of Uxbridge|
|Nathaniel||1736-1773||m. 1758 Mary Squire|
Samuel-4 (Joseph-3, Joseph-2, Robert-1) Daniels, born 1693 at the "upper mill place" on Boggastowe Brook, married this year Experience Adams, daughter of Deacon Peter Adams.
He was deeded Lot 27, West Section, 85 acres, in 1739, by Samuel Hill, originally granted to Nicholas Rockwood. Hill was great grandson of Rockwood, and the land was set off to his mother.
Daniels built and operated two sawmills on Chicken Brook - a large one northerly of the intersection of Winthrop and Maple Street on Kirby's Pond, and a smaller slabbing mill at the bend of the brook westerly of the present 19 Winthrop Street residence.
Most of the lumber used in building the New Grant Meeting House of 1749 was sawed in these two mills.
Samuel Daniels served in the French and Indian Wars, as did four of his sons.
His wife Experience died in 1731, and Samuel married second Sarah Phipps of Wrentham.
Samuel died in 1781, and his son Nathan settled in the "Latic" (Populatic) section, and founded one of the Franklin branches of the family.
|Samuel||1720-1809||m. 1742 Elizabeth Adams (Holliston)|
|Timothy||1722-||m. 1754 Ruth Leland (Holliston)|
|Nathan||1727-1789||m. 1746 Mary Adams (Wrentham)|
|John||1728-||m. 1753 Elizabeth Keith (Keene, NH)|
|Simon||1731-||m. 1754 Lydia Adams (Wrentham)|
|Reuben||1733-1734||m. 1758 Timothy Force|
|Sarah||1735-||m. 1764 Jonathan Wiswell|
|Japhet||1738-1805||m. 1763 Meletiah Haward (Holliston)|
|Abijah||1740-||m. 1774 Hannah Dix (Medford)|
Benjamin-4 (John-3, Nicholas-2, Robert-1) Rockwood, born in 1697 in the Old Grant on the later Oak Grove Farm in Holliston, settled this year on Lot No.5, River Section, granted to the Widow Margaret Sheppard.
Eleazer Ellis of Medfield deeded the lot to him.
Twelve years later, he bought 21 acres more adjoining the east edge of his farm, north of the Mendon Road.
In 1723, he married Rachel Morse.
He was on the Committee of Four that handled the petition for the Second Precinct in 1749.
He served in the French and Indian Wars.
In 1762, Benjamin sold his tract of 72 acres to Rev. Daniel Pond and moved to Grafton, Mass., where he died.
Some of the subsequent owners included Reuben Hixon and Levi and Otis Fairbanks, and the Lackey family at the present 260 Village Street.
|Benjamin||1723-||m. 1750 Ruth Adams|
|Abigail||Bp.1729||m. 1751 John Daniels|
George Deming (or Denning) settled during this year in the Mucksquit section of North Medway.
He was a prominent man in town and precinct, Selectman for four years, and was active in the organization of the Second Church and its councils.
He bought and sold many parcels of land in the New Grant, and in 1749, his property tax was exceeded by only twelve other owners here, yet the least is known of him of any pioneers in the New Grant.
In 1724, he bought 30 acres in the New Grant south of Joseph Curtis; in 1735, he bought 32 acres south of Joseph Barber, and in 1741, he sold land to John Hucker.
There is no record in Medway of his parentage, marriage, death or family, although there are two references in Holliston records.
It is a matter of record, however, that after the formation of the Second Church, in which he was instrumental, and before the ordination of its first minister, Rev. David Thurston, he read the Psalms on the Sabbath Day at the new meeting house.
After the pulpit was filled, his interest evidently waned, for in 1757 he was taken in hand for absenting himself from Communion.
In the old deeds, he is described as "of Holliston," but in most documents, "of Medway."
He owned acreage in Lots 26, 27, 28 and 29 at different times.
A deed of 1750 puts his dwelling place on the Rockwood Lot No. 27. Samuel Daniels deeded him land here in 1738. His house was probably near that of Dr. Wight on Winthrop Street.
Holliston records contain only two items possibly concerned with George Deming or Denning; one gives a marriage of George Dening to Margarett White in 1759, and another that Margaret Denning, widow, 67, died in 1791, possibly George's second wife. Margaret's name also appears on one deed.
Eleazer-4 (Ebenezer-3, John-2, John-1) Thompson, born in the Old Grant in the dwelling near Stoney Plain in 1701, settled in this year on the east portion of Lot No. 13, West Section granted Widow Hannah Boyden and heirs of Joseph Morse.
His deeds were not recorded, so it is impossible to trace his ownership of properties.
His holdings were bounded on the west by David Daniels.
The site of his dwelling was later the location of the Ollendorff mansion on Drybridge Hill. The Ollendorff house has been relocated diagonally southeast of its former location, across the Turnpike Road, now Main Street, and stands in the southwest corner of Main and Elm Streets.
A new "contemporary"(?) house now stands on the Ollendorff site, completely out of keeping with traditional Main Street architecture.
Eleazer Thompson married Hannah Daniels in 1725, who died in 1750. The same year, he married Sarah Wight.
Eleazer died in 1754, and his son Moses inherited the farm.
When the 1749 Meeting House was built, Eleazer Thompson supervised the men who hewed the oak beams and sills.
|Moses||1728-1794||m. 1751 Keziah Partridge|
|Keziah||1730-1794||m. 1750 Nathan Adams|
|Abigail||1732-||m. 1750 Joseph Peters|
|Mary||1734-||m. 1758 Joseph Perry|
|Thamer||1736-||m. 1756 Ebenezer Blake|
|Sarah||1738-||m. 1757 Joseph Fales|
|Timothy||1740-||m. 1775 Lydia Burnham|
Henry-5 (Joseph-4, Joseph-3, Joseph-2, Samuel-1) Morse, born in Sherborn in 1703, married this year Sarah Kebbe (Kibbe).
He settled on the east part of Lot No. 30, West Section, granted John Frairy, Jr., but no deed record has been found for this ownership.
The later Wennekeening farm owned by the Cutler family off Winthrop Street at the Holliston town line was later located here, with the magnificent Morse-Cutler house, now gone, and a development is now located there. In 1727, Henry Morse took his first born son in his arms and walked to the meeting house on Bare Hill in the Old Grant to have him baptized.
His farm did not come within the bounds of the West Precinct of Medway, so his affiliations were mostly with Holliston.
As Abner Morse said, "The Morses considered themselves as belonging to Holliston, and attended meeting there until Rev. Mr. Sanford outpreached the aging Mr. Prentiss."
Henry served in the French and Indian War, and was a Selectman in 1746.
Lands in the west portion of the lot were sold by other parties at various times.
Henry Morse died in 1766, and his wife died in 1762, recorded in Medway.
|Ezekiel||1727-1778||m. 1750 Rebecca Cousins.|
|Ezekiel was killed by the kick of a horse.|
|Sarah||1729-1804||m. 1750 Joseph Rider|
|Hannah||1732-1817||m. 1750 William Andrews|
|Henry||1734-1807||m. 1755 Abigail Bullen|
|Thankful||1740-1810||m. 1756 Andrew Watkins|
|James||1742-1808||m. (1st) 1760 Hannah Daniels|
|(2nd) 1764 Elizabeth Bullard|
Joseph -3 (Zachariah-2, George-1) Barber, born in 1685 in a house on the present Bridge Street in Medfield, east of the "Great Bridge," acquired the whole of Lot No. 24, West Section, granted to Joseph Clark.
In 1709, Solomon Clark of Medfield deeded him 87 acres, in 1720, Samuel Clark of Medfield 37 acres, and in 1721, Theophilus and Timothy Clark of Medway deeded him 44 acres.
These deeds conveyed more acres than the original grant was supposed to contain.
Joseph Barber never occupied more than the north half, and that lot, a mile long, continued in the Barber family for 150 years.
Without any deeds, he gave his sons lands on Lot No. 25, north of his own holdings.
The south half of this lot was conveyed by John Partridge and Eleazer Adams, and was very likely taken in exchange with him for the Hinsdell Lot No. 25.
Joseph's dwelling was at the end of what is now Ward's Lane, a way called Barber's Lane in his day.
In 1726, he married Abigail Hawes of Medfield.
In 1762, he deeded his home farm to his son Joseph, reserving the east end of his dwelling to the chimney, during his lifetime, for his own use.
|Mary||1729 -||m. 1752 Peter Wight of Medfield|
|Joseph||1731-1812||m. 1757 Rebecca Clark|
|Abigail||1732-1809||m. 1755 Timothy Partridge|
|Sarah||1736-||m. 1762 Josiah Fiske of Upton|
|Elizabeth||1740-||m. 1768 Jeremiah Littlefield 1726|
Edward Kibbe, a probable son of Joshua of Sherborn, married in 1724, Abigail Morse of Sherborn.
In 1726, he, with his brother Joshua, bought land in the Frairy lots.
His dwelling was situated a little south of the railroad station at Metcalf's in Holliston.
He ran a sawmill on Chicken Brook with his brother.
His wife, listed as Abia, died in 1793 at the age of 84, and is buried in Holliston.
He sold out his holdings to Benjamin Jones who was living on the place in 1750.
|Hannah||1733 bp. in Holliston|
|Abigail||1743- (twin) bp. in Holliston||m. 1768 Timothy Madden|
|Lydia||1743- (twin) bp. in Holliston|
|Isaac||1746-||m. 1765 Phebe Whiting|
|Edward||1751-||m. 1767 Mrs. Mary Goudey|
Nathaniel-3 (Nathaniel-2, Nathaniel-1) Cutler, born in Reading, Mass., 1702, came to the New Grant in 1718, the year his mother Elizabeth married Lt. Theophilus Clark. His brothers John and Jonathan accompanied him.
In 1727, he married Elizabeth Smith of Medfield, and settled on Lot No. 14, West Section, granted to Henry Smith, his wife's grandfather, from whom he purchased the land.
Between 1728 and 1740, he was deeded 138 acres of the 158 contained in this lot.
Nathaniel was a tanner by trade, and his dwelling, tannin bark house and tannery was on Chicken Brook at the old Cutler place, now gone, that stood at the southwest corner of Adams and Winthrop Streets.
When Pine Hill Road - now Winthrop Street - was laid out in 1751, it was bounded from the brook by Nathaniel Cutler's bark house.
Mr. Cutler was active in the start of the West Precinct, and was an original member of the Second Church and parish.
He was a Deacon of the Church, and boarded the workmen who finished the new meeting house, and precinct meetings were held in his house. which was located in a field about 200 feet easterly of the present intersection of Winthrop and Maple Streets.
Rev. Dr. and Mrs. Jacob Ide commenced housekeeping in the old house when Dr. Ide became Pastor of the Second Church in 1814. At this time, when the Second Church was being built, Sabbath services were held in the old house.
The old dwelling, built before 1730 and long unused, burned to the ground in a fire in 1914, the work of vandals.
Nathaniel served in the French and Indian War, and died in 1759.
His widow died in 1785.
|Elizabeth||1728-||m. 1758 Ebenezer Blake|
|Hannah||1734-||m. 1760 Nathan Taft|
|Elisha||1736-1806||m. 1759 Mary Pond|
|Simeon||1738-1826||m. 1760 Silence Clark|
|Sarah||1742-||m 1763 Timothy Pond|
|Esther||1745-||m. 1766 Joshua Green|
Eleazer-4 (Eleazer-3, Thomas-2, Thomas-1) Wight, born in Medfield in 1701, was deeded in 1727, by his father, Lot No. 6, River Section, granted to Thomas Wight, Sr.
The terms for the deed to Eleazer from his father were "love and affection."
His wife's name was Mary, but his marriage is not recorded.
Eleazer served in the French and Indian War, was a petitioner for the new prexcinct, and died in 1754.
His farm descended to his son James.
|James||1702-1808||m. 1759 Ruth Harding|
John Adams deeded to William Richardson 69 acres for the price of 220 pounds, a not inconsiderable sum for the time.
The land was bounded north by Eleazer Bullard, south by Samuel Hamant, east and west by land left for highways, a lot formerly granted "to my honored grandfather."
Possibly John Partridge Lot No. 40, East Section.
Ephraim-3( Nathaniel-2, William-1) Partridge, born in Medfield in 1702, was the only descendant of William Partridge to settle in Medway.
He married Lydia Partridge in 1727-8, daughter of Abraham Harding of the Old Grant.
Ephraim came into possession of Lot No. 19, West Section, granted to William Partridge, his grandfather. His dwelling stood on the site of the Eliakim Ross place, now No. 63 Lovering Street, about opposite the former almshouse.
He added to his farm of 61 acres, and passed it on to his only surviving son Nathaniel.
Ephraim was an original member of the Second Church, located on Rabbit Hill.
He died in 1770, his widow in 1773.
|Lydia||1728-1799||m. 1762 Nathaniel Whiting, Jr.|
|Sarah||1732-||m. 1765 Isaac Adams|
|Nathaniel||1734-1801||m. (1st) Mehitable Metcalf|
|m. (2nd) Mary Leland|
|Deborah||1741-||m. 1769 Levi Warren|
|Olive||1743||m. 1774 Nathaniel Holbrook Jr.|
Lt (Leftenant) Timothy-4 (Timothy-3, Benjamin-2, Joseph-1) Clark, born in the old tavern stand on the Flat in 1706, was this year married to Elizabeth Harding of Medfield.
She died the year following, and he married second, in 1730, Abigail Bullard, daughter of John Bullard of Sherborn.
Abigail died in 1738, and Timothy married for his third wife, Margaret Whiting.
Timothy received all of his father's estate by paying stipulated sums to his brothers and sisters.
During his life, he added much to his holdings. He owned a number of slaves, two appearing in his inventory. He was Selectman several times, and the first town meeting held in what is now Medway was held in his tavern.
He saw service in the French and Indian War.
At one time, he owned most of the Theophilus Clark land in the Wheelock lot in the New Grant.
He died in 1761, and his widow died in 1798.
His inventory gives an interesting account of the furnishing of an inn of two centuries ago.
|Abigail||1732-1831||m. 1750 James Penniman|
|Timothy||1735-1807||m. 1757 Tamar Plimpton|
|Lois||1737-1801||m. 1754 Theodore Harding|
|Mary||1750-1823||m. 1769 Abijah Fairbanks|
|Margaret||1753-||m. 1769 Jacob Works (Int. gives "Mrs." Margaret Clark)|
|Sarah||1757-1804||m. 1783 Theodore Clark|
Samuel-4 (John-3, Nicholas-2, Richard-1) Rockwood, a brother of Benjamin, was born in 1695.
In 1729, settled on Lot No. 47 granted to Sergt. George Barber, deeded to him by his father John.
His farm contained 160 acres, all of the George Barber lot, and he had 12 additional acres in the Old Grant.
In 1743, he sold for 140 old, or 35 pounds new tenor, his lands in the Old Grant.
His land was in Holliston after the exchange of lands in 1829.
He married Mary White of Mendon.
Samuel served in the French and Indian Wars and died in 1754.
|Samuel||1724-1754||m. 1750 Sarah Pierce|
|Timothy||1727-1806||m. 1750 Elizabeth Perry, res. Holliston|
|Moses||1737-1823||m. 1760 Lydia Ellis|
|Aaron||1744-1776||Died during Revolutionary War at Ticonderoga|
Nathaniel-3 (Nathaniel-2, Joseph-1) Clark, born in Medfield in 1705, settled in North Medway, in the Mucksquit Section on a part of Lot No. 24, West Section, granted in 1659 to Joseph Clark, and sold in three parcels to Joseph Barber.
In 1728, he was deeded by Eleazer Adams a lot bounded on the north by Joseph Barber, east by Benoni Partridge, south by a way, and on the west by the Holliston town line - now along our Summer Street.
His dwelling stood north of Daniel Adams on the west side of Chicken Brook.
In 1729, Nathaniel married Judith Mason of Dover Parish, Dedham, who died in 1731.
He married second, in 1734, Esther Jones.
He was Chairman of the committee that built the new meeting house in 1749, was a Selectman several years, and an original member of the Second Church.
Nathaniel served in the French and Indian War, died in 1780, and his wife died in 1770.
|Amos||1730-1787||m. (1st) 1757 Hannah Crage (Craigie)|
|m. (2nd) Rebecca Ware|
|Nathaniel||1734-||m. 1764 Sarah Beals|
Note: There appears to be an error in the dates of Silence Clark, birth and death shown in 1733. Nathaniel's first wife, Judith, died August 4, 1731; Nathaniel married Esther Jones January 31, 1734. Silence was born, according to Medway VR, October 17, 1733, and died December 4, 1733, a period during which Nathaniel was not married.
Jonathan-4 (Nathaniel-3, Nathaniel-2, John-1) Cutler, born in Reading, Mass., 1717, came to Medway in 1718, when his mother, the Widow Abigail married Theophilus Clark.
He worked with his stepfather in the Bent Sawmill, and in 1733, married Abigail Clark, daughter of Lt. Theophilus.
In 1730, William Sheffield deeded Jonathan 95 acres of land, one acre being in Holliston directly across the northwest bound of the New Grant, and the remainder in Lot No. 31, West Section, granted to Rev. John Wilson.
He built his house in Holliston, and put up a sawmill in Medway on Chicken Brook.
His farm, which was all in Medway, was divided at the time of his death. He deeded 50 acres with the sawmill to son Jonathan, Jr., bounded north and west by John Goulding, east by his own land, and south by Edward Kibbe.
In 1761, he deeded 80 acres to Simeon Cutler, bounded north by John Goulding, south by "said Cutler's land," east by Timothy Partridge and Ezekiel Morse, and west by land of Jonathan Cutler Jr. This was afterward owned and used for a nursery by his grandson, Simeon Morse Cutler.
Both tracts were in Medway New Grant.
He was a leading citizen in Holliston, and gathered a fine estate for his day.
He died in 1762, and his widow married Deacon Thomas Marshall, and she died in 1794.
|Jonathan||1735-||m. 1763 Jerusha Blake|
|Abigail||1737-||m. 1762 Ebenezer Lealand|
|Moses||1740||m. 1764 Lydia Blake|
|David||1742||m. 1768 Lydia Bixby|
|Mary||1744-1822||m. 1768 Daniel Eames|
|Ebenezer||1746-1828||m. 1772 Esther Bacon|
|Simeon||1749-1799||m. 1770 Elizabeth Rockwood|
|Lydia||1751-1831||m. 1772 Samuel Johnson|
Timothy-4 (Samuel-3, Thomas-2, John-1) Ellis, born in Medfield in 1704, was a shoemaker.
He married Hannah Stevens in 1731, and settled on Lot No. 42, East Section, granted to his grandfather Thomas.
This place on Ellis Street, still stands, and although much changed, still retains the flavor of its early establishment.
An unconfirmed story says that the original small Ellis dwelling was raised, and the present house was built under it around 1760.
His trust of 77 acres was deeded to him by his brother Samuel in 1725, several years before he settled upon it.
He died at a young age in 1736, and his widow married William Richardson of the Old Grant in 1739. Richardson managed the farm until the only son Timothy became of age.
|Hannah||1731-1796||m. Moses Rockwood.|
|Timothy||1735-1798||m. 1759 Sarah Harding|
David Wheaton, son of Bejamin of Mendon, Mass., was born in 1706.
He married Susannah Fisher in 1736, and settled in Mucksquit west of Henry Morse.
Rev. Abner Morse says that Wheaton settled first on the east part of the Wilson lot, then built on the Bullen lot on 25 acres bought in 1741 from Benjamin Jones. He then built on the southwest corner of the Rockwood lot. This latter place was sold to Jeremiah Littlefield in 1767, and later, to Joseph Brick.
The place is shown on the 1852 Medway map on Hill Street. During his life here, he built three houses near Winthrop's Pond.
He was a stone mason, and built many walls, wells and foundations in the area.
In his old age, he became a fortune teller, and foretold many events with remnarkable accuracy.
After his first wife died in 1750, he married the same year, Sarah Maxfield.
He served in the French and Indian War, and died in 1793.
Some of his children were recorded in Medway, some in Holliston, and some in both towns.
|Daniel||1732-||m. 1758 Unity Bullen|
|Susanna||1735||m. 1769 Hezekiah Bullard|
|Joseph||1742||m. 1762 Rachel Maxwell|
Note: M. M. Fisher, in one of his newspaper articles, stated that Hannah Wheaton was a poetess of some note, and died a pauper in Medway.
David-4 (Joseph-3, Joseph-2, Robert-1) Daniels, born in 1699 in the Old Grant, married this year, Magdalen (Bullard?) of Medfield.
He located on Chicken Brook in the New Grant on the west part of Lot No. 13, West Section, granted to Mrs. Hannah Boyden and heirs of Joseph Morse.
No deeds are on record either to or from him.
He was a miller like his father and brothers, and his grist mill was located on Chicken Brook near the present entrance to the West Medway Park, about where the dam and spillway are now. This was on the extreme southern edge of his land.
His dwelling stood on Oak Street at the head of Mechanic Street, about where the Fairbairn house stands.
Around 1747, he sold out to Nathan Whiting, son of Capt. Nathaniel, and moved to Wrentham West Precinct, locating on Mine Brook near Unionville, in the present Forge Park area.
He started a branch of the Daniels family in Franklin.
|Henry||1731-||m. 1757 Lois Pond|
|Seth||1737-||m. 1768 Unity Thurston|
Malachi Jr.-4 (Malachi-3, Benjamin-2, Robert-1) Bullard, born in the New Grant in 1710, became of age this year, and married Rachel Hill, daughter of Samuel Hill of the Old Grant.
The next year, his mother deeded him 110 acres in two parcels, the north part given to him, and his brother Elisha was given the south portion.
He served as Selectman four yerars, and served in the French and Indian War.
He died in 1772, his wife in 1771.
|Isaac||1744-1810||m. 1766 Mary Fisher|
Joshua Kibbe (or Kibby), brother of Edward, married this year Abigail Dowse.
With his brother Edward, Joshua settled on the Abial Wight grant, Lot No. 29, West Section, west of the Frairy lot.
Joshua was dumb, but not deaf, and talked with his hands. He was a skilled sawyer and worker in his brother's sawmill.
He had no children, and at his death in 1754, his property was divided between his wife and brothers, with the bulk of it going to his nephew Isaac, whose son Isaac sold land for Metcalf Station to the Boston & Albany RR.
Joshua Kibbe left no issue.
In this year, Samuel Corning and his wife were living in the Mucksquit section of North Medway, near Winthrop's Pond.
Little is known of their origin or family, but in 1754, Mary Adams, weaver, sold all of her land, 30 acres, to Timothy and Moses Partridge. The parcel was bounded south by Henry Morse, north by the Holliston line, west by Jonathan Cutler, and east by Winthrop's Pond.
The land is noted as "land that Samuel Corning lived on."
Samuel-3 (Henry-2, Henry-1) Garnsey, born on the first settled farm in the New Grant around 1720 settled across Chicken Brook to the west of his father Henry.
He married Mary ---, and his dwelling stood near the present "corner," at the intersection of High, Lincoln and Village Streets.
He was a petitioner for the new precinct.
His death is not recorded, but in 1769, a Mrs. Mary Garnsey married James Pond.
In 1790, the first U S Census placed the Widow Mary Pond on this place.
No further record.
Elisha-4 (Malachi-3, Benjamin-2, Robert-1) Bullard, born in 1714 on the home farm at Ellis Street, married Bathsheba Fisher in 1736.
Bathsheba was the daughter of Samuel Fisher who lived on the hill across the river from the Bent mill.
In the division of his father's property, he had the south part. His dwelling was was on the site later owned by Henry Johnson.
Elisha was a carpenter and did considerable work on the new meeting house.
About 1760, he sold his farm to Samuel Hayward and moved to the West Precinct in Wrentham, now Franklin.
|Elijah||1751-||m. 1774 Meletiah Pond|
|Elisha||1752-1834||m. 1777 Rachel Rockwood|
|Abel||1757-||m. 1778 Molly Johnson|
|Barach||1758-||m. 1785 Juletta Messenger|
William-4 Daniel-3, John-2, John-1) Richardson, born in the Old Grant in 1711 married this year Hannah, widow of Timothy Ellis.
He lived on the Ellis farm until Timothy Jr. came of age, then built to the west on Lots 40 and 41.
In 1820, this farm contained 120 acres.
(See also 1727 for other land acquisitions).
William's wife died in 1756, and he married second, in 1759, Abigail Curtis, daughter of his nearest neighbor to the north.
His place was for many years known as the George Newell farm on Holliston Street.
He served in the French and Indian War and died in 1794.
|Mary||1740-||m. 1762 Philemon Stacey|
|Amos||1822||m. 1766 Phebe Holbrook|
|Sarah||1748-||m. 1772 Timothy Ellis of Wrentham|
John Hucker, son of Henry, was born in Medfield in 1713, and in 1740, married Martha Partridge, daughter of Jonathan of Coffee Street.
John Hucker settled in the Mucksquit section of North Medway, and at various times owned many pieces of land in that area.
He evidently settled on the west part of Lot No. 26, West Section, granted to John Fisher, and bought several acres near his house which was located near the Dr. Aaron Wight place, now 116 Winthrop Street.
In 1750, he bought Samuel Daniels's place on Lot No. 27. His home was at the west of his holdings on the present Lovering Street.
Mr. Hucker was very active in in the Second Church and Precinct, and was the carpenter who framed the meeting house.
He served in the French and Indian War, and around 1760 moved to Medfield, and later settled in Rutland, Mass.
|Samuel||1746-|| (1790 census gives a Samuel Hucker
Samuel-5 (Samuel-4, John-3, John-2, Joshua-1) Fisher, born in "Latic" across from the Bent Mill in 1709, settled in the New Grant this year.
He bought Lot No. 32 from Nathaniel Cutler, and inherited Lot No. 33 in the East Section from his grandfather, giving him a farm of 144 acres.
He added 10 acres to this bought from a George Adams in the Albee Lot No. 34.
His land included such sites as the Medway Junior-Senior High School on Holliston Street, the dwelling opposite - the later Westkage place - and Kenney Drive.
In 1740, Samuel married Ruth Wight, daughter of Ephraim of Medfield.
He served in the French and Indian War, was a Selectman several years, was a Deacon in the Second Church, and was one of those disaffected with Rev. David Sanford in 1773.
In 1749, he was the first Highway Surveyor in the New Grant, and his responsibility included "all the ways, and the Mendon Road as far east as Theophilus Clark."
In 1761, he bought all of the east part of the Middle Road - then known as Vine Lane, and now Kelley Street, from the town.
This "way" ran from the southwest of his door yard to the Old Grant line back of Oakland Cemetery, a strip two rods wide, connecting with Broad Street Extension, north of the railroad.
The westerly part of this ancient way ran from Vine Lane to Evergreen Street, and across the turnpike to Oak Street, and on to Highland Street, as mentioned before.
Although an old man, he saw service in the Revolutionary War.
History and tradition speak highly of him as a man and citizen.
No record of his death has been found.
|Mary||1741-1809||m. 1766 Isaac Bullard|
|Simon||1743-1818||m. 1766 Kezia Wheeler|
|Puah||1744-||m. 1767 John Mellen|
|Ruth||1748-||m. 1791 Malachi Pond|
|Samuel||1750-||m. (1st) 1773 Lydia Haskell|
|m. (2nd) 1884 Lydia Hill|
|Obed||1755-||m. 1784 Katherine Hinsdell|
|Sarah||1756-1847||"Died at alsmhouse age 92"|
|Rhoda||1758||m. 1784 Nathaniel Thayer|
Seth-4 (Benoni-3, John-2, John-1) Partridge, born in 1711 on the home place near Chicken Brook, married in 1740, Ruth Bullen.
He located on 48 acres in the west part of the Bullen Lot No. 28, West Section.
Henry Morse was his near neighbor to the north, and at one time, Daniel Wheaton on the west.
He was a blacksmith, and his shop was located at "Moon's Corner" at Winthrop and Hill Streets. At least three other blacksmiths located there, and a shop was still there as late as 1852.
Seth Partridge served in the French and Indian and Revolutionary Wars.
He had no children, and at his death in 1786, he left his place to an adopted daughter Anne who became the wife of Lt. Jonathan Holbrook.
Theophilus-4 (Timothy-3, Benjamin-2, Joseph-1) Clark, born at Timothy Clark's Ordinary in 1716, married this year Experience Wheeler.
He settled on the estate of his uncle Theophilus on Village Hill, buying 72 of the 110 acres owned by Theophilus.
He also operated the Bent Sawmill, and some of the boards used in building the 1749 meeting house came from his mill.
He owned land south of the Old Mendon Road (Village Street) from the LeFavor estate (the Village postoffice corner of today) to Walker Street.
The Bent Bridge and road of 1735 went through this trust.
Theophilus was a member of the First Church in the Old Grant (East Medway), signed the petition for the New Precinct, but did not withdraw his membership to join the Second Church.
He served in the French and Indian War, and with his son Jonathan, a lad of 16 years of age, perished in the campaign of 1760 while coming home from Ticonderoga.
His property in Medway was sold to Capt. Josiah Fuller, and afterward, his son Nahum started a farm in Holliston, near Braggville, on land that is now in Medway.
His widow, who some records indicate married a Jones, had a monument to her husband and son put up in the old burying ground.
Ballou's History of Milford gives a good account of Nahum Clark and his numerous descendants.
|Silence||1740-1832||m. 1760 Simeon Cutler|
|Jotham||1744-1760||died French & Indian War|
|Nahum||1750-1829||m. 1772 Mary Stearns of Mendon|
James-3 (John-2, John-1) Partridge, born in the Old Grant in 1700, married Kezia Bullard, daughter of Malachi, in 1729.
It is possible that he lived for a few years on the Bullard place, and in 1742, he bought the east half of his brother Jonathan's farm south of the Bullard holdings.
His farm was 160 acres in total.
In later years, a part of this land was occupied by Edward and Mary Blake at the southeast corner of Coffee and Holliston Streets. Their house stood on the site of James Partridge's dwelling, and one of the few large older barns in Medway still stands at the site.
Mr. Partridge served in the French and Indian War.
He died in 1779, and his widow died twenty years later, in 1799.
|James||1730-||m. 1759 Abigail Partridge of Sturbridge|
|Malachi||1731-||m. 1758 Abigail Johnson of Sturbridge|
|Kezia||1733-||m. 1751 Moses Thompson|
|Lois||1736-||m. 1756 Benjamin Pond of Wrentham|
|Bethia||1738-||m. 1759 Seth Hixon|
|Eleazer||1740-1826||m. 1765 Lois Rockwood of Wrentham|
|Lydia||1743-1840||m. 1769 Samuel Bullard of Holliston|
|Stephen||1746-||m. 1772 Esther Emerson of Uxbridge|
|Joel||1748-||m. 1774 Waitstill Morse|
|Nathan||1751-1785||m. 1776 Mehitable Holbrook|
Job-4 (Henry-3, John-2, John-1) Plimpton, born in Medfield 1718, married this year Esther Pond of "Latic" and settled on Lot No. 7, River Section, granted to Timothy Dwight.
This was a large lot, and his holdings were on the extreme east, along the Old Mendon Road. He lived on what was later Overlook Farm, near Shaw and Cottage Streets.
He was a blacksmith, and served in the French and Indian and Revolutionary Wars. He was active in the formation of the New Grant, and was an original member of the Second Church.
He served as Precinct Clerk for several years, and his peculiar chirography requires considerable effort to decipher today.
Job was a Selectman in 1760, and he and his wife died 1797.
Of his 11 children, only four reached maturity.
|Job||1746-1814||m. 1767 Beriah Hawes|
|John||1758-||m. 1781 Rhoda Adams|
|Esther||1760-||m. 1778 Simon Slocumb|
|Mary||1762-||m. 1784 Timothy Adams|
Note: From Job Plimpton, the land went through various hands; Job Jr., and Nathan Plimpton, Asa Cole, Abiatha Shaw, Austin, Town of Medway, and the Goldstein interests by the mid-twenties.
Ichabod-4 (Daniel-3, Daniel-2, Edward-1) Hawes, was born in Wrentham in 1719.
In 1744, he bought land on both sides of the Mendon road from Timothy and Theophilus Clark.
He was a gunsmith and had a forge and trip-hammer worked by water power just west of the Bent sawmill.
His shop stood on the bank of the river, to the rear of the present condominiums on Village Street.
The Medway Holding Company's factory was a little to the north of his place, nearly opposite Barber Street at Village Street.
His original dwelling stood on the site of the present Catholic Rectory at the corner of Village and School Streets, and was moved to Barber Street where it still serves as a dwelling, and is identified by a characteristic foundation made from hand-made red bricks.
Ichabod's land went as far as Peach Street to the west, and to what was known as the "White House" a large tenement standing on a knoll today, in the southwest corner of School and Village Streets, to the rear of a small variety store.
In 1745, he married Elizabeth Fisher of Latic, who died in 1756.
He married second, in 1768, Kezia Mason, who died four years later.
Ichabod married for the third time, in 1775, Ruth Williams who survived him.
He served in the French and Indian War, and he and his three sons served in the Revolution.
He was called Lieutenant, Ensign, and Captain on the old deeds.
Ichabod Hawes died in 1777 at the age of 58.
After his death, his son Joel lived on the place, until 1802, when he moved to Brookfield, Mass. George Barber of Rockville then bought it.
|Beriah||1746-1829||m. 1767 Job Plimpton, Jr|
|Eli||1748-||m. 1776 Susanna Bigelow|
|Esther||1753-||m. 1775Dr. John Long|
|Joel||1757-||m. (1st) 1777 Judith Clark|
|m. (2nd) 1788 Phila Thayer|
|Ichabod||1758-1794||m. 1782 Sarah Pond|
|Betty||1762-||m. 1774 Mathew Long|
John-5 (Eleazer-4, John-3, Edward-2, Henry-1) Adams, born in the Mucksquit section of North Medway, married this year Silence Clark.
He resided for a time in Brookfield, Massachusetts, but returned to the New Grant, and located on a portion of his father Eleazer's land.
His residence was his father's old house.
This was also the home of his son Hezekiah, and the name "Kiah Lot" clung to the place for generations.
John Adams' wife died, and he married second, in 1770, Zilpah Daniels.
He and at least three of his sons served in the Revolution.
|John||1746-||m. 1769 Deborah Beals, Vermont|
|Jude||1748-||m. 1771 Jemima Adams, Spencer|
|James||1750-||m. Huldah Richardson, Spencer|
|Joel||1751-||m. 1774 Lydia Drury|
|Silence||1753-||m. 1776 John Flaherty, Shrewsbury|
|Phineas||1760-||m. 1781 Patience Pond|
|Elias||1766-1842||m. 1789 Hannah Flagg, Spencer|
|Hezekiah||1769-1841||m. 1786 Rhoda Mann|
|Patty||1775-1860||m. Uriah Harrington|
|Eleazer||1776-1851||m. 1807 Sybil Capen, Charlton|
Ichabod-5 (Abraham-4, Abraham-3, Abraham-2, John-1) Harding, born on the "Flat" in the old house in 1732, married in 1746, Hannah Bullen.
He settled on Ellis Street between Timothy Ellis and Malachi Bullard.
His dwelling was on Lot No. 39, granted to Francis Hamant.
Ichabod served in the French and Indian War.
After his death in 1794, his son Benajah succeeeded him.
|Rhoda||1758-||m. 1777 Billey Broad|
|Benajah||1764-||m. (1st) 1788 Lydia Bishop|
Josiah Gregory of Framingham bought this year of Elizabeth Balch of that town, a grandaughter of Timothy Dwight, a share in the Dwight Lot facing the Mendon road.
This was the nucleus of the Leftenant Daniel Ide place, for a long time the Charles Hills place on Village Street.
Josiah died in 1759, and his widow sold the place to Daniel Ide the following year.
Seth Clark deeded him 69 acres more, so he had a farm consisting of two-thirds of the Dwight lot.
Josiah had no children recorded in Medway, and his widow moved back to Framingham.
Thomas-5 (Daniel-4, John-3, Edward-2, Henry-1) Adams, born in 1726 on the Chicken Brook farm, married this year Mary Partridge.
His father gave him the extreme west part of his farm, the later Charles Wilson place at the southeast corner of Summer and Lovering Streets.
Thomas Adams Sr. had the title of Ensign, served in the French and Indian War, and died in 1773.
His place descended to his son and namesake, Thomas Jr., who sold it to Malachi Bullard, the builder.
|Mary||1751-||m. 1772 Nathan Adams of Rutland|
|Sybil||1753-1818||m. 1770 Abijah Harding of Barre|
|Asa||1757-1789||m. 1776 Abigail Curtis of Rutland|
|Thomas||1754-1840||m. 1777 Susann Clegg|
Samuel Hayward born in Bellingham in 1724, this year married Hannah Metcalf.
It is not known where he first settled in the New Grant, but all of his children are recorded in Medway.
In 1749, he was taxed for real estate here.
In 1760, he bought Elisha Bullard's farm on Lot 36 East.
Samuel was active in the formation of the Precinct, was a Deacon in the Second Church, and served in the French and Indian War and the Revolution.
Five of his children died young, and his son Elias, who inherited the farm, died seven years after his father Samuel, who died in 1776.
The farm was sold shortly thereafter to Asa Hixon.
|Meletiah||1750-||m. 1773 Amos Holbrook of Bellingham|
|Elias||1757-1783||m. 1782 Beulah Partridge|
|Hannah||1761-1789||m. 1787 James Richardson|
Matthew Proven came here from Blanford, and was taxed in the New Grant in 1749, but the location of his place is not known.
He married Mary Clark, daughter of Captain Timothy of the village in 1745.
Only two children were born to him here, and after 1750, he disappears from our records.
Timothy-5 (Samuel-4, John-3, Nicholas-2, Richard-1) Rockwood, born on the old farm on Holliston Street in 1728, was deeded by George Dunning in 1749, "in consideration of 2 years labor and 500 pounds old tenor" the east part of his new dwelling, 20 acres formerly owned by Samuel Daniels, woodland in Holliston, and 40 acres of the Hopping Brook farm in Holliston.
The Holliston woodland may have been the later Lawrence meadow lot, off Summer Street, bounded easterly by John Hucker.
Timothy Rockwood married Elizabeth Perry of Holliston. Soon afterward, he moved to Holliston, where he married three more times, and died in 1806.
|Timothy||1751-1831||m. 1770 Margaret Parker|
|Elizabeth||1753-1849||m. 1770 Simeon Cutler|
|Samuel||1755-||m. 1782 Rhoda Johnson|
|Deborah||1758-1836||m. 1778 James Mellin|
|Rhoda||1763-1822||m. 1782 Ezra Brown|
|Aaron||1772-1827||m. 1801 Mille (Milly) Watkins|
|Miriam||1773-||m. 1800 Drury Fairbanks|
|Anna||1777-||m. 1795 Sampson Bridges|
|Luther||1780-||m. 1801 Ruth Perry|
Nathan-4 (Nathaniel-3, John-2, Nathaniel-1) Whiting, born at the Grist Mill site on the Charles River in 1725, was settled in 1749 on the farm and mill of David Daniels on Chicken Brook on Oak Street near the new meeting house.
His father bought the estate, and gave the lot for the Sanctuary.
Also in 1749, Nathan married Mary Metcalf of Bellingham.
He served in the French and Indian War and the Revolution, and was called "Lieutenant."
For many years, he "kept the kee and opened the Great Doors of the Meeting house."
He held no town office, and was somewhat overshadowed by his father, at least in civic affairs, and his son Nathan, who was a physician.
He died in 1790.
|Elias||1753-1830||m. 1779 Susanna Hall|
|Mary||1758-||m. 1784 John Fairbanks|
|Abigail||1760-||m. 1783 Jason Chamberlain|
|John||1762-||m. 1785 Charlotte Whitney|
|Timothy||1767-||m. 1796 Rhoda Bullard|
|Nathan||1770-||m. (1st) 1791 Miriam Leland|
|m. (2nd) 1804 Meletiah Partridge|
John-5 (John-4, Abraham-3, Abraham-2, John-1) Harding, born in the Old Grant in 1724, settled in 1750 on land in Medway and Holliston deeded him by his father.
His 1752 dwelling was on the extreme west part of Lot No. 26, West Section, and he acquired a portion of Lot No. 25 later.
His place, a Harding place for a century, was later known as the Kate Sanborn place, called "Breezy Meadows."
The handsome house was razed in 1995 after having been unoccupied for many years.
It was near the Metcalf Boston & Albany RR station, and was the most northerly farm in Medway.
There have been references to an Eastman family on the site, pre-dating Harding occupancy, but this connection has not been verified.
John Harding married Kezia Pond in 1745.
He served in the French and Indian War, and in the Revolution.
He was a a Selectman in 1780.
He died in 1809, and his wife in 1797.
|Hannah||1747-||m. 1777 David Leland, Sherborn|
|Abijah||1750||m. 1770 Sybil Adams, Barre|
|Mary||1755-1795||m. 1775 Jeremiah Leland, Holliston|
|John||1757-1833||m. 1782 Beulah Metcalf|
Samuel-5 (Samuel-4, John-3, Nicholas-2, Richard-1) Rockwood, born in 1724 on the home farm east of Winthrop's Pond married Sarah Peirce in 1750.
He died in 1754, the same year as his father.
His widow, believed to be a witch, and his son Amos lived on the place for many years after Samuel's death.
Nathan-5 (Obidiah-4, John-3, John-2, Henry-1) Adams, born in 1722 and baptized in 1725, married in 1750, Kezia Thompson, daughter of Eleazer on Drybridge Hill.
Nathan lived on his father's place on what is now Adams Street.
He was a cooper by trade, and made all the cider barrels for Medway.
He served in the French and Indian War, and he and three of his sons served in the Revolution.
Four of his five sons moved away from Medway.
He died in 1800, and his widow died in 1814.
|Nathan||1751-||m. 1772 Mary Adams, Barre, Mass.|
|Elijah||1753-1817||m. 1774 Lizzie Morse, Hubbardston, Mass|
|Isacher||1754-1829||m. 1776 Millicent Allen, Hubbardston, Mass|
|Obidiah||1758-||m. 1779 Abigail Harding|
|Reuben||1760-1848||m. 1781 Azubah Jones, Westminster, Mass.|
Nathan-5 (Ebenezer-4, Joseph-3, John-2, Robert-1)
Bullard, born in Medfield in 1724, married in 1750, Ede Partridge, daughter of Jonathan of the Coffee Street farm.
He settled on Lot No. 27 granted Nicholas Rockwood, according to Abner Morse, who says his was the first house built on the present Winthrop Street, then known as Pine Hill Road.
For many years, Pine Hill Road went no further than the Bullard land, then "through bars and gates," making a detour west over Chicken Brook on Jonathan Cutler's land.
Nathan served in the French and Indian War, and in the Revolution.
His son Reuben was wounded three times at Bunker's Hill, one ball going through his stomach, yet he lived for 14 years after this wound.
Late in life, Nathan Bullard sold out to Dr. Aaron Wight and removed to Shrewsbury.
(Note: Diarmiud Higgins, Medway Highway Superintendent, called the writer several years ago, stating that he thought he had located an old well in the southeast intersection of Winthrop and Hill Streets while making some measurements for a curve radius at the junction of the two streets. He had indeed located a well, and it was the original well that served the Nathan Bullard place nearly 200 years before. It was about 23' deep, well screened by small trees and bushes, and when we ran a pail down into it, it came up with clear, icy water. It was too dangerous to allow it continue as an open well, and reluctantly, Derm ordered that it be caved in and filled).
|Elizabeth||1750-||m. 1769 Deacon James Morse|
|Ede||1752-||m. 1772 David Johnson, Jr|
|Rhoda||1754||m. 1772 Zedekiah Johnson|
William-4 (Joseph-3, John-2, John-1) Ellis born in 1722, married in 1750, Mary Walker of Sutton.
He lived on his father's place on the Mendon Road until 1783, when he sold the property to Jabez Shumway, and moved away from town.
He served in the French and Indian War and the Revolutionary War.
Part of one of the two ancient Shumway dwellings still survives in a house in the southwest corner of the Village and Franklin Streets intersection.
The other Shumway house was demolished in 1910 over the protests of the Medway Historical Society, after the Society had accumulated sufficient funds to purchase it.
|Eunice||1751-||m. 1772 Simon Alverson|
|Jerusha||1757-||m. 1783 Abijah Ware|
|Ezekiel||1760-||m. 1783 Lydia Lawrence|
Ezekiel-6 (Henry-5, Joseph-4, Joseph-3, Joseph-2, Samuel-1) Morse who was born in 1727 on the Wennekeening farm near Winthrop's Pond in Holliston, married this year Rebeckah Cousins (Cozens), born 1728 in Holliston.
Ezekiel's father died in 1766, but a few years previous, had divided his homestead.
Ezekiel originally had the west portion, and his brother James the east, but in 1760, they exchanged places.
Ezekiel served in the French and Indian War and in the Revolution, He died in 1778, survived by his wife Rebeckah, who died in 1807.
Ezekiel's only son Abner inherited the farm.
|Elizabeth||1753-1833||m. 1774 Elijah Adams|
|Waitstill||1 753-1825||m. 1774 Joel Partridge|
|Abner||1759-1821||m. 1781 Milli(e) Leland|
|Sarah||1761-1839||m. 1784 Isaac Cozzens|
|Mercy||1772-||m. 1792 David Eames|
William Rixford and wife Hannah (Thayer) were married in Mendon in 1751, and lived in Medway around this time.
They stayed here several years, and resided on the east part of the Henry Garnsey farm in the old house that stood just southerly of the Woonsocket Branch of the railroad, and easterly of Chicken Brook.
This old house, of which photographs taken in 1900 by Orion Mason still survive, was burned, according to reports of the time, by Charles Austin, around 1925 while being used as a woodshed.
This quite possibly could have been the original Henry Garnsey house
In 1759, Rixford sold this place, and a small tract of meadow to the north, to Nathan Whiting.
Timothy, son of Nathan sold the same land and dwelling to James Richardson before 1800, and left town.
Except for the marriage record of William and Hannah, and the births of their children, except Henry, there is no further record of the Rixford name in Medway.
Lt. Moses-5 (Eleazer-4, Ebenezer-3, John-2, John-1) Thompson, son of Eleazer and Hannah, was born in 1728 on the Drybridge Hill farm owned by his father, and to which he succeeded after his father's death in 1754.
In 1751, Moses married Kezia Partridge, daughter of James Partridge, a near neighbor to the east.
Moses was in several of the campaigns of the French and Indian War, and also saw service in the Revolution.
He was a Selectman in 1780.
He died in 1794, and his wife died in 1784 in her 51st year.
|Timothy||1752-||m. 1775 Lydia Burnham|
|Eunice||1755-||m. 1780 Seth Chapin, Mendon|
|Kezia||1757-||m. 1776 John Cragin|
|Eleazer||1760-||m. 1786 Prudence Richardson|
|Hannah||1763-||m. 1783 David Sanford Great Barrington|
|Azubah||1765-||m. Samuel Jearould|
|Moses||1766-1792||Died in Medfield, smallpox|
|Huldah||1769-||m. 1789 Zibah Richardson|
|Pamela||1777-||m. 1799 Oliver Hodgman|
Rev. David Thurston, son of David and Deborah (Pond) Thurston, born in Wrentham in 1726, a graduate of Princeton in 1751, became in 1752 the first Pastor of the Second Church in the New Grant.
In this same year, he bought Lot No. 34, East Section, from John Harding.
This lot was originally granted to Benjamin Albee.
Ten acres of this lot had been bought previously by Deacon Samuel Fisher, so the Parson got only 120 acres, according to his deed.
He built his house in the extreme southwest corner of his lot on Drybridge Hill, near the present site of a dairy store and restaurant, in the northeast corner of the intersection of Pond and Main Streets, so the Meeting House was but a short distance away, at Main and Evergreen Streets.
In 1752, Mr. Thurston married Susanna Fairbanks of Wrentham, before taking up his work here.
Two of Mr. Thurston's children died here and are buried in the old cemetery in West Medway.
The Pastor had met with some difficulties in his stay in the New Grant; some very vigorous personalities were in his congregation, and his repeated demands for a salary adjusted to a specie basis instead of a paper one was not responded to favorably.
As an example of "Old Tenor money" - during the interval between his pastorate and that of his successor, the Parish voted to pay 5 pounds Old Tenor, or l pound silver per week to candidates.
Relations became quite strained, and Mr. Thurston's health was failing; in 1769 he .resigned and went to Sutton, Mass., where he died in 1777.
|David||1758-1761||Died in Medway|
|Lois||1760-1764||Died in Medway|
Asa-4 (James-3, John-2, Joseph-1) Clark, born in 1732 on the Lovering Street place, married this year Betsey Barstow.
He inherited the east half of the original farm with many outlying wood lots, located on the west side of Lovering Street near Allen's Lane (Howe Street).
Asa served in the Revolution, and was called "Lieutenant."
He died in 1801, and his widow died in 1815.
His farm descended to his son John and grandson Sewell.
|Asa||1758-||m. 1779 Lois Barber|
|Mary||1760-||m. 1779 Paul Ellis|
|John||1768-1836||m. 1791 Kezia Hobbs|
This year, Benoni Partridge sold to Moses Partridge, blacksmith, for 173 pounds, the easterly part of his house (the old part), the easterly stable in his barn, half of the barn, and half of the homestead on the southward side of the way.
Ebenezer-4 (Ebenezer-3, Nathaniel-2, James-1) Allen, was this year deeded by his father one third of the farm near the Holliston line.
The deed says "for several years labor given me by my son."
A new dwelling that young Ebenezer had built was also included.
Ebenezer married Lois Adams in 1755, and lived only two years, dying in 1757.
His widow married 2nd, in 1761, James Stewart.
|Miriam||1756-||m. 1783 Levi Thayer.|
Moses-4 (Benoni-3, John-2, John-1) Partridge, born in the old place near Chicken Brook, and baptized in 1741, settled on land given him by his father southwest of the later North School site at Winthrop and Partridge Streets, the "old Number Five Schoolhouse."
This area was known then as "the Partridge neighborhood."
In 1755, Moses married Rachel Thayer, daughter of Ziba Thayer of Uxbridge.
He was a blacksmith, and had a shop near his dwelling.
Moses lived here until 1801, when he sold out to his son Simeon, and moved to Upton where he died in 1804, aged 72.
He served in the French and Indian War and in the Revolution.
His widow died in 1812.
|Freelove||1757-||m. 1778 David Pike, Rockingham, VT|
|Simeon||1760-1832||m. 1784 Jerusha White|
|Beulah||1762-1858||m. (1st) 1782 Elias Hayward|
|m. (2nd) 1788 Daniel Fisk, Upton, Mass.|
|Tabitha||1765-||m. 1781 James Johnson|
|Clarissa||1775-||m. (1st) 1795 Gregory Ide|
|m. (2nd) 1799 Asa Childs, Pittsburgh, Penn.|
Timothy-4 (Benoni-3, John-2, John-1) Partridge, born in 1727, brother of Moses, settled just south of the old North School at Partridge and Winthrop Streets.
His house was some distance north of the first house built by his father Benoni.
In 1755, Timothy married Abigail Barber, daughter of his next neighbor to the north.
He served in the French and Indian War, and saw service in the Revolution in 1775.
Timothy died in 1787, and his son Elijah inherited the place, well-known in later years as the George Lawrence homestead, a highly successful horse and cattle breeding farm.
Timothy's widow died in 1809.
|Samuel||1756-1832||m. 1782 Elizabeth McIntyre, Paxton, Mass.|
|Eunice||1758-1828||m. 1783 Ralph Mann|
|Elijah||1762-1805||m. (1st) 1785 Kezia Curtis|
|m. (2nd) 1798 Catherine Clark|
Amos-4 (Nathaniel-3, Nathaniel-2, Joseph-1) Clark, born in 1730 on the Lovering Street place, married in 1757 Hannah Crage (or Craigie), who died in 1766.
He married second, in 1771, Rebecca Morse.
Amos inherited his father's place on which he lived until his death in 1787.
He served in the French and Indian War.
His son Amos resided on the place after his father's death.
|Judith||1757-1787||m. 1777 Joel Hawes|
|Susanna||1760-1789||m. 1777 Thomas Adams|
|Amos||1762-||m. 1788 Ursula Richardson|
|Eleanor||1764||m. 1788 Henry Morse|
Eleanor Clark was one of the eighty-odd persons who joined the Second Church in the Great Revival of 1785.
She left a written "Confession of Faith" of many pages that forcefullly shows the passionate soul searchings of that period.
Lt. Abraham-5 (Abraham-4, Abraham-3, Abraham-2, John-1) Harding, born in 1730 on the Populatic Pond farm, married this year Abigail Adams, daughter of Daniel Adams of Mucksquit.
He served his town as Selectman, and was at one time part owner of the Bent Sawmill, and he built the house still standing, later owned by James Sherry on the south side of Village Street, now No. 27 Village Street, the ell to the present house being part of the original dwelling.
Lt. Abraham was well-to-do, and looked up to by his fellow townsmen.
His place was left to his youngest son Seth who drowned when he fell through the ice while crossing Populatic Pond in 1825.
It is said that when Seth's body was found, his watch and hat were on the ice next to the hole where he had gone into the pond.
Lt. Abraham served in both the French and Indian War and the Revolution.
|Tabitha||1757-||m. 1776 George Slocumb|
|Abigail||1759-1793||m. 1779 Obidiah Adams|
|Job||1762-||m. 1786 Dorcas Reed|
|Elizabeth||1764-1802||m. 1787 Isaac Hixon|
|Deborah||1777-1827||m. 1800 Ezekiel Partridge|
|Seth||1782-1825||m. 1805 Mary Learnard|
Timothy-5 (Timothy-4, Timothy-3, Benjamin-2, Joseph-1) Clark, born in 1729 in the old tavern on the Flat married this year, Tamar Plimpton, born at the Plimpton place across the road from the Medfield burying ground.
Timothy's father died in 1761, and young Timothy became heir to his father's land holdings, paying legacies to his sisters.
He served in the Revolution, was Selectman, and Town Clerk for one year, the first and only one that did not reside in the East Parish.
His wife Tamar died in 1795, and after his death in 1807, his son and daughter agreed to the use of his "four wheeled hack," which was held in common.
Timothy's place was divided between his son-in-law Comfort Walker and his son Timothy.
The holdings of the latter, which included the old tavern site were owned by Clark Walker, a grandson.
In later years, the place had many owners, but it was generally known as the Dr. Emerson place.
|Tamar||1770-1813||m. 1784 Comfort Walker|
Joseph-4 (Joseph-3, Zachariah-2, George-1) Barber, born in 1731, was deeded his father's home place on Chicken Brook this year by Daniel Adams.
This farm of 80 acres, one mile long, was kept in the family for more than a century.
In 1757, Joseph married Rebecca Clark
In addition to carrying on the farm, he was a gravestone maker, and many of the stones in the old section of Evergreen Cemetery are his handiwork.
He served in the French and Indian War, and the Revoolution.
He was a faithful member of the Second Church, and a good citizen, but was very eccentric.
Many tales are told about "old Joe Barber from over north," among them the time he determined to repair his roof, and fixed a rope to the chimney so that with a running start, he could reach the peak. His roof nearly touched the ground in the back of the house.
He went up with such speed he couldn't stop, and went "over the top" and crashed to the ground, breaking a leg.
One time, he tipped over a load of hay crossing Chicken Brook, damming it up so that the meadows were flooded for some distance around.
A favorite story has to do with Joseph Barber being responsible for the stream in West Medway being named Chicken Brook, when he accidentally dropped a crate of chickens into it, drowning the birds.
Although he drove a gentle horse, he overturned his chaise three times in one week.
When his neighbors gathered together at Sabbath meeting, the general course of conversation began with, "what did Joe Barber turn over today?"
|Lois||1759||m. 1779 Asa Clark|
|Sewell||1761-1766||m. 1785 James Johnson|
|Joseph||1768-1847||m. (1st) 1791 Chloe Haven|
|m. (2nd) 1827 Zebia Partridge|
James-4 (James-3, John-2, Joseph-1) Clark, born in 1725, married in 1758, Martha Smith of Dedham.
By his father's will, he owned the northeast part of the old farm on both sides of the present Lovering Street.
His house stood where the dwelling now stands in the southwest corner of Lovering and Winthrop Streets, the later J. Milton Daniels place.
James Clark served in the French and Indian War and the Revolution.
Both of his sons died young, and later his place was owned by a son-in-law, Thaddeus Lovering.
James Clark died in 1786.
|Sarah||1759-||m. 1782 Nathan Jones|
|Catherine||1774-1834||m. (1st) 1798 Elijah Partridge|
|m. (2nd) 1811 Moses Pond|
|Rachel||1775-||m. 1790 Thaddeus Lovering|
Nathaniel-4 (Ebenezer-3, Nathaniel-2, James-1) Allen, married this year Mary Squires.
He lived on the home place on the Mendon Road near the Holliston line. He served in the French and Indian War, and died in 1773.
When Summer Street was made a town way in 1782, his widow Mary Allen was paid 36 pounds land damage.
|Elijah||1758-||m. -- Hannah --|
|Levi||1766-1794||m. 1792 Hannah Ellis|
|Nathaniel||1769-||m. 1793 Lucy Daniels|
|Moses||1771-||m. 1800 Betsey Freeman|
Note: In 1773, Ebenezer Allen-3 "of Holliston" deeded "to the grandchildren of Nathaniel my son for love and affection, half of the dwelling house, one third of the barn, Estate to the value of 133-6-8 pounds."
He named the seven boys in their order, and adds "a child not yet born."
Capt. Moses-5 (Daniel-4, John-3, Edward-2, Henry-1) Adams, born in 1731, married Rachel Leland of Sherborn in 1758.
Rachel came from a town and family noted for apples and apple cider, and Moses had the first fruit orchard in Medway with grafted fruit trees, owing to the connection by marriage.
Moses inherited the east part of his father's estate, and added to it.
He was a leading citizen of Medway.
He served many times as a Selectman, was the director of Medway's activities during the Revolution, and between 1775 and 1781, accumulated a sizeable amount of vouchers and papers that were given to the State archives.
Captain Adams commanded the Second Company of Medway Minute Men that marched on the Lexington alarm.
He was Representative to the General Court 1775, 1782 and 1783, the first man from the New Grant to be thus honored.
He was commisioned Captain in Col. Ephraim Wheelock's Regiment in 1776, and was one of the few whose military title was gained from militia service.
Capt. Moses died in 1815, and his wife died in 1825, and both are buried in the old cemetery in West Medway.
|Hepzibah||1758-||m. 1777 Elisha Johnson, Holliston|
|Rhoda||1761-1835||m. 1781 John Plimpton, West Bloomfield, NY|
|Mary||1767-1821||m. 1790 Dr. Jonathan Metcalf, Franklin|
|Rachel||1769-1850||m. 1790 Lt. Timothy Pond, Franklin|
|Ruth||1772-||m. 1790 Thomas Bacon, Franklin|
|Aaron||1776-1825||m. 1797 Catherine Adams|
Timothy Jr-5 (Timothy-4, Samuel-3, Thomas-2, John-1) Ellis, born in 1735, son of Timothy and Hannah, on becoming of age, inherited his father's farm on Ellis Street.
He married in 1759, Sarah Harding, daughter of Isaac of the Old Grant.
He served in the French and Indian War and the Revolution.
He died in 1798, and his wife died two years previous.
His two sons Paul and Oliver succeeded him in ownership of the farm.
|Paul||1758(?)-||m. 1779 Mary Clark|
|Oliver||1766-1848||m. 1787 Anna Fisher|
Seth Hixon, housewright, son of Walter Hixon of Stoughton came to Medway around 1757 to work at his trade.
In 1759, he married Bethia Partridge, daughter of James of Coffee Street, and in 1761, he bought the east half of the Benjamin Albee Lot No. 39, East Section, of Rev. David Thurston.
His place contained 68 acres. Seth Hixon's first dwelling was a small one-story building that stood at the northwest corner of Main and Holliston Streets. Around 1800, the present house, owned in recent years by the Connolly family was built on the site of the old Hixon house.
Judging from its architecture, the ell to the present house may have been the original Hixon dwelling, modernized over the years.
In the 1850's and later, the place was owned by Simeon Partridge.
In 1996, the ancient barn at the place was razed, and the house is to be either moved or torn down to make way for a commercial building.
If the house is razed, one of the finest examples of Federal architecture in this area will be lost to the town.
Drybridge Hill, to the west of the Hixon place, gained its name from a "dry bridge" constructed under the Turnpike, so that cattle could be driven to pasture south of the roadway. The dry bridge was located about 75 yards west of the intersection of Main and Holliston Streets, and evidences of it, at its north end, can still be seen.
The area about the intersection was for many years known as "Hixon's Corner," because all four angles of land were Hixon-owned.
Seth Hixon served in the French and Indian War, and in the Revolution.
He died in 1821, his wife in 1818 at the age of 80.
In the old records, the name is given as Hixson.
|Seth||1759-1770||Died of smallpox in Medfield|
|Isaac||1762-1849||m. (1st) 1787 Elizabeth Harding|
|m. (2nd) 1802 Persis Adams|
|Reuben||1765-1837||m. 1794 Ruth Gould|
|Asa||1768-1852||m. 1790 Polly Turner|
James-5 (Eleazer-4, Eleazer-3, Thomas-2, Thomas-1) Wight, born in 1731, married in 1759 Ruth Harding, daughter of Abraham on the Populatic farm.
His father had died in 1754, and James inherited the original farm on the Mendon road.
He died in 1808, his wife in 1796.
His only child, a son, remained on the farm until his death in 1818, and then it ceased to be a Wight place.
|Thomas||1760-1818||m. 1797 Millie Boyden|
Elisha-4 (Nathaniel-3, Nathaniel-2, Nathaniel-1) Cutler, was born in 1736 in the old house that stood easterly of the intersection of Winthrop and Maple Streets. now the site of a development. The old homestead was the original Nathaniel Cutler place of 1734.
Elisha married Mary Pond in 1759
Elisha learned the trade of tanner, and continued his father's business.
He served with distinction in the French and Indian War and in the Revolution.
Elisha has been described as a big man, over six feet tall, and weighing about 300 pounds.
Elisha and his wife died in 1806.
His son Nathaniel, who succeeded him in ownership of the home place was a housewright, and built many of the best homes in West Medway, including the three in "Cutler Row" on Highland Street.
|Catherine||1763-||m. 1781 Benjamin Pond|
|Nathaniel||1765-1839||m. 1788 Elizabeth Plimpton|
|Jemima||1769-||m. 1789 Elisha Pond|
|Susanna||1772-1779||m. 1794 Nathan White|
|Caroline||1779-||m. 1806 Calvin Plimpton|
Note: Caroline Cutler, who married Calvin Plimpton, lived in the house on the Turnpike now (1966) the residence of the Francis Cassidy family. In this house was born Caroline Plimpton Metcalf, who was for many years principal of Wheaton Seminary at Norton, now Wheaton College.
James-6 (Henry-5, Joseph-4, Joseph-3, Joseph-2, Samuel-1) Morse, born 1742, married in 1760, Hannah Daniels, daughter of Samuel of Holliston.
At first, he lived in the original homestead of Henry, but soon exchanged with his brother Ezekiel, and moved to the west part of the farm.
He served in the French and Indian War, and in the Revolution.
He was called Sergeant, and was a Deacon in the Second Church.
Late in life, he removed to Milford where he died in 1808. His widow also died in Milford in 1828, at the age of 88.
|John||1763-1844||m. 1793 Clarissa Sanford, Green River, NY|
|Henry||1766-1851||m. 1788 Eleanor Park, Paxton|
|Ruth||1768-1844||m. Joel Howard, Milford|
|Polly||1769-||m. David Elliott, Sutton|
|Catherine||1785(bp)-||m. Nathaniel Fletcher, Charlton|
Simeon-4 (Nathaniel-3, Nathaniel-2, Nathaniel-1) Cutler, born in 1738 on the Nathaniel Cutler farm married Silence Clark, daughter of Lt. Theophilus Clark of the Bent Mill in 1760.
He built the fine old house standing at the southwest corner of the intersection of Winthrop and Adams Streets, which was destroyed by vandals in a fire around 1960.
Although used as a barn, this dwelling, dating from Simeon Cutler's marriage, was a fine example of early architecture, with its horsehair back-plastered walls, huge central chimney, fireplaces, oaken batten door, and 6-over-6 windows, even in its last days.
Directly to the south of this house, and in a field on the banks of Chicken Brook were the drying racks used by Nathaniel and Elisha Cutler in their tannery business.
A long, low, drying and curing shed stood near the racks, and this and the racks were gone by 1790.
Simeon Cutler served in the French and Indian War and in the Revolution.
Both he and his wife were very much opposed to the location of the Second Church on Rabbit Hill, and Silence Cutler vowed that if the church were located there, she would never enter its doors.
Stange to say, at about that time, she was struck with a paralytic stroke - called the "numb palsy" in those days - and never walked again.
Simeon Cutler died in 1826, and his widow in 1832, aged 92 years.
Genealogists have been plagued for years by the indiscriminate use of Simeon Cutler's first name in the records, where he is often called "Simon," resulting in considerable difficulty in accurately tracing wills, deeds, ancestors, and progeny.
|Experience||1761-1845||m. 1794 Obidiah Adams|
|Silence||1762-||m. 1754 Elial Metcalf|
|Simon||1767-||m. (1st) -- Lydia -|
|m. (2nd) 1814 Nabby Brewer|
|Sybil||1774-||m. 1796 Simeon Perry|
Ishmael Coffee of mixed Indian and Negro blood came to the New Grant from Needham this year, and was promptly warned out of town.
However, he gained employment as a day laborer, and worked for many landowners, and eventually became a regular skilled worker in the Bullard sawmill off the street later named to commemorate him.
He built a little house in the woods of the Black Swamp "divident" near the road to the old meeting house on Bare Hill.
When our streets were named in 1869, one of the most sensible choices was to name Coffee Street in his honor, as he was a responsible citizen, and served with distinction in the Revolutionary War.
In 1768, he married Lucy Gay, who was also a person of color.
The deaths of Ishmael and his wife are not recorded.
|Roba||1768-||m. 1789 Christopher Vicars of Natick|
|Zadock||1775-||m. 1813 Alsenath Purchess|
|Hannah||1777-||m. (1st) 1797 James Wilson|
|m. (2nd) 1798 Thomas Wilbur|
|Mina||1777-||m. 1799 Lemuel Ludock|
|Sarah||1782-||m. 1807 Amos Freeman|
|Nathan||1784-||m. (1st) 1805 Hannah Freeman|
|m.(2nd) 1815 Lucina Freeman|
|Ichabod||1786-||m. 1809 Sarah Ludic|
|Eunice||1789-||m. 1815 Benjamin Smith|
Moses-5 (Samuel-4, John-3, Nicholas-2, Richard-1) Rockwood, born in 1737, married in 1760, Lydia Ellis, born in 1736, who died.
Moses married second, Lydia's sister Hannah.
Both were daughters of Timothy Ellis (of the street that bears his name).
Moses inherited the west part of the Barber lot.
Abner Morse, who knew him well, noted that Moses had an exceptional memory, "and seemed to know the history of his vicinity and area as well as if he had been there since the beginning of the settlement. He was only eleven years old at the death of his grand uncle Benjamin, who was born in 1651, and well remembered him."
Moses died in 1823, and his wife died in 1796.
He served in the French and Indian and Revolutionary Wars.
|Moses||1772-1854||m. 1748 Lois Johnson of Holliston|
Moses Ellis sold this year, 62 acres to Rev. David Thurston.
This was nearly half the of the Jonathan Partridge lot, being the westerly part.
The land was bounded on the south by Thurston's lot, west and north by ways, and easterly by James Partridge.
Captain Josiah Fuller, birthplace unknown, this year married Abigail Whiting of Wrentham, and bought the Lt. Theophilus Clark place on Village Hill.
He was a blacksmith and millwright.
He served in the Revolution, and was Captain of a company that marched to Rhode Island on an alarm in December, 1776.
In 1774, he bought two iron field cannons for the town and was paid for mounting them, and the cannons were later taken to be used in the siege of Boston.
Josiah was a Selectmen in 1771.
In 1777, he sold out and moved from town.
This year, Rev. David Thurston sold to Seth Hixon, for 172 pounds, the east part of his homestead land, consisting of 60 acres.
The parcel was bounded south by Samuel Fisher, east by Ichabod Hawes, north by James Partridge, and west by "a line straight and parallel with a way," now Pond Street.
Peter-4 (Daniel-3, Ephraim-2, Thomas-1) Wight, born in 1722 in Medfield, came to the Neqw Grant this year.
In 1752, he had married Mary Barber, daughter of Joseph Barber of Mucksquit.
In 1762, he exchanged his place on Green Street in Medfield with John Hucker, and became owner of Hucker's farm in Mucksquit, on Lot No. 26, originally granted to John Fisher.
Peter died in 1800, aged 78. No record of his wife Mary's death has been found.
|Daniel||1753-1800||m. 1780 Polly Puffer, Wales, Mass.|
|Dinah||1758-||m. 1781 Jonathan Frost, Westboro, Mass.|
Nathaniel Jr-4 (Nathaniel-3, John-2, Nathaniel-1) Whiting, born in 1725, always lived by the grist mill on the river .
In 1762, he married Lydia Partridge, daughter of Ephraim.
Nathaniel's father had deeded him the mill, pond, dam, and damming privilegs in 1756, and he received other parcels of land nearby.
He died a few years later, in 1770.
His widow managed affairs until the marriage of her two daughters, when the sons-in-law took charge.
At the time of his marriage, Nathaniel doubled the size of the house so that the two families occupied it jointly.
His widow, Lydia Partridge Whiting was known as "the Sainted Lydia", and was one of the two women mentioned in the Massachusetts Soldiers and Sailors, and a chapter of the D.A.R. in Newton was named for her.
She died in 1799.
|Mercy||1763-1826||m. 1781 Luther Metcalf|
|Lydia||1764-1838||m. 1784 Philo Sanford|
Jabez-4 (Amos-3, Peter-2, Peter-1) Shumway, born in 1746 in Oxford, Massachusetts, son of Amos and Ruth Shumway, came to the New Grant at the age of 17 to work for Captain Nathaniel Whiting at his mill.
In 1775, he married Olive Penniman, daughter of James Penniman of the Old Grant.
After his marriage, he spent two years at his old home in Oxford, and coming back to Medway in 1783, he bought the William Ellis farm on the Mendon Road in the northwest corner at Franklin and Village Streets.
In 1783, William Ellis sold to Jabez Shumway, for the sum of 340 pounds, a house, 60 acres of land in Medway, 10 in Franklin, less than half the original lot.
In 1791, Jabez bought the Elihu Partridge lot of 2-1/2 acres on Franklin Street, diagonally across from his home place.
Jabez and his descendants lived on the home place for more than a century.
The meeting house of 1814 on Rabbit Hill, and a large part of residential Main Street in West Medway are on former Shumway land holdings.
Jabez Shumway was a Selectman, and served in the Revolution.
After his death in 1821, his place was owned by his son Amos and grandson Edward.
|Olive||1783-1881||m. 1803 Thomas Adams (lived a widow for 60 years)|
|Amos||1787-1871||m. 1810 Patience Adams|
|Ruth||1793-||m. 1815 William Adams|
Jonathan-5 (Jonathan-4, Nathaniel-4, Nathaniel-2, Nathaniel-1) Cutler, born in 1735 over the Holliston line from the Wilson lot, married Jerusha Blake in 1763.
He had the west part of the Wilson and Frairy lots, and his father's sawmill.
Jonathan apparently died in middle age, for in 1778, the "widow Jerusha Cutler" was taxed in Medway, indicating his death earlier than this date.
His son Calvin succeeded him on the place at Metcalf's Station, and rebuilt the sawmill around 1800.
Abner Morse, in his History of Sherborn and Holliston, identifies the Jonathan Cutler Sr. lot as "west of Chicken Brook, on Abraham's Plain and 100 rods west of the RR deep cut. He purchased the lot of 147 acres adjacent to him in Medway, which in 1659 had been assigned by Medfield to their minister, Rev. Mr. Wilson, and prior to 1753, built a sawmill on Chicken Brook, northeast of the westerly depot in Holliston."
The "RR deep cut" can still be seen at Highland Street, not far north of the Holliston town line, and the railroad line runs through a handsome stone arch built in 1847 of Milford granite at that location.
|Rhoda||1768-||m. 1785 Asaph Leland, Jr.|
|Calvin||1766-||m. 1787 Ruth Littlefield|
|Amos||1775-1797||Died in Boston|
Nathaniel-4 (Ephraim-3, Nathaniel-2, William-1) Partridge, born in 1734, married Meletiah Metcalf, daughter of Samuel Metcalf of Wrentham, in 1763.
Meletiah died, and Nathaniel married second, in 1794, Mary Leland.
They had a large family, but all of the children died early in life.
Nathaniel was a Deacon in the Second Church, served in the French and Indian Wars, and was a Selectman.
His son Ephraim entered Providence College in 1787, and "died of a consumption in his 25th year."
Deacon Nathaniel died in 1801, and his place was owned by his son-in-law Samuel Clark, and subsequently by William Adams, and in later years by Eliakim Ross, whose house still stands on Pond Street opposite Lovering Heights.
|Mehitable||1768-1791||m. 1790 Samuel Clark|
|Olive||1775-||m. 1794 Samuel Clark|
Rev. Daniel Pond of Wrentham, son of John and Rachel (Fisher) Pond, was born in 1724, and married Lois Metcalf of Wrentham in 1763.
He graduated from Harvard in 1745, became a minister, and was settled in Templeton, Mass., in 1755.
He preached there for only four years, and unhappy difficulties having arisen between him and his flock, he was dismissed from the church by order of an ecclesiatical council. He then came to West Medway and became a tutor, "fitting" youths for admittance to college.
He had been received into the First Church in East Medway in 1750, but after his return, he was received into membership in the Second Church at West Medway by letter of recommendation from the First Church in June of 1764.
Although Mr. Pond "enjoyed confidence and respect from the citizens of Medway," he soon became embroiled in controversy.
He was opposed to what were called the Hopkinsian views in theology, and when a minister advocating those views was settled in the West Medway Church, Daniel Pond withdrew from that church and returned to the church at East Medway.
In taking this action, he "became a leader in a dissension" in that town, which lasted many years.
In 1763, he bought the Benjamin Rockwood farm on the Mendon Road.
His house was on the north side of the road, and his barn stood opposite on the south side.
In 1757, he had purchased a tract of land in Templeton in addition to a grant of a house lot, of which he sold portions in 1761 and 1764 to John Howe and John Whitcomb.
In 1788, he conveyed one-half of an estate of 72 acres in West Medway to Miranda Merrifield, spinster. This parcel bordered on the Charles River, and was divided by the the old Mendon Road.
At the same time, Mr. Pond conveyed the other half of the property to his son-in-law, Abner Merrifield.
Miranda and Abner joined in the sale of their properties to Reuben Hixon in 1791.
It was probably at this time that Daniel Pond removed to Medway, and may have settled in Templeton with his son-in-law and Miranda. No further record of any of them has been found.
He and his wife were Puritans.
Judge Asa Aldis, a nephew of Moses Pond who was brought up in Rev. Daniel Pond's family, told this story of his boyhood:
One winter's night, a belated traveler asked for a night's lodging at the Rev. Pond house. His request was readily granted, for hospitality was the order of the day in those times.
His horse was put up. and supper was nearly ready.
Mrs. Pond, whose conversation was usually along religious lines, in speaking of the harsh winter night, likened it to the time of Moses and the plagues of Egypt.
The stranger said that Moses was "nothing but a conjurer".
When he made the statement a second time along in the discussion, off came the pan from the fire.
"I can cook you no supper," said Mrs. Pond.
"No man who disbelieves the Bible, and calls Moses, the servant of the Lord, a conjurer, can stay in my house!"
Her husband agreed, and the wayfarer had to saddle his horse and find a family less orthodox. (Author's note: It is believed that the New Grant had such).
Rev. Pond took the only weekly newspaper in town at that time, and upon the paper's arrival, the neighbors would gather in the kitchen of the Pond house to hear the news.
Daniel's wife Lois died in 1787.
|Jabez||1765-1765||Died same day he was born.|
|Miranda||1767-1790(?)||m. 1788 Abner Merrifield of Holliston.|
|Set. in Newfane, Vermont|
Isaac-3 (Edward-2, Joshua-1) Kibbe (or Kibby), born in 1746 or 1747, married Phebe Whitney in 1765, and lived in the house of his father in Holliston.
Little is known of Isaac; his wife died in 1824, his death is recorded as 1834 in Holliston, listing him as two years younger than his birth record indicates.
His son and namesake Isaac was prominent in Montgomery Lodge, AF&AM, when it was located in Medway, and it was he who sold land to the Boston & Albany RR in 1849 for the location of Whitney's Station in Holliston on the B&A RR Milford Branch.
|Kezia||1768-||m. Artemus Richardson of Milford, per Ballou|
|James||1770-1808||Settled in NY|
|Isaac||m. (1st) 1808 Sally Bragg|
|m. (2nd) 1823 Kezia Miller|
|Whitney||1791-||m. 1814 Elizabeth Snell|
Note: Abner Morse's genealogical record adds:
|Phebe||m. Jeremiah Hartwell|
|Hannah||m. David Claflin|
|Joshua||Settled in Boston|
The vital records of Medway and Holliston do not mention these three.
Simon-6 (Samuel-5, Samuel-4, John-3, John-2, Joshua-1) Fisher, born in 1743, son of Deacon Samuel at the east end of the old Middle Road, bought 31-1/2 acres of the Metcalf Lot No. 2, River Section in 1766.
His land was on the north side of the road, and the E. Cutler Wilson place at 214 Village Street marks the site of Simon's dwelling.
Simon was the first storekeeper in the New Grant, and kept a good supply of West Indies rum and molasses, tea and spices for his neighbors along with a line of staple groceries.
His house was a true "saltbox", two stories in front, and running down nearly to ground level in the back.
He was a much-married man; He married Kezia Wheeler in 1766 who died soon after her marriage. He married Dinah Pond in 1768, and she died in 1778, aged 31. He married Joanna Hopkins for his third wife in 1782, and she died in 1786. He married his fourth and last wife, Susan Darling in 1788, and she died in 1817.
Simon's son John first lived on his grandfather Metcalf's place, but later removed to Latic.
In 1790, Simon sold his place to Deacon Joseph Ware, and built a small house on the Flat later owned by Charles O'Hara.
In the "big freshet" of 1807, Simon was marooned for several days.
This was the greatest flood ever seen on the Flat in Medway. All the bridges between Bellingham and Medway were washed away.
When, after several days, townspeople got to him in a boat, Simon greeted them with "I'm awful glad you came, for I'm out of rum!"
|John||1764-1818||m. 1791 Hannah Hill|
|Priscilla||1770-1845||m. 1797 Goldsbury Pond of Franklin|
|Alice||1714-||m. 1795 Partridge Holbrook|
|Elisha||bp. 1785||m. 1798 Rhoda Partridge|
Amos-5 (William-4, Daniel-3, John-2, John-1) Richardson, born in 1742, married Phebe Holbrook of Bellingham in 1766.
He lived on the present Holliston Street on the place his father settled on near Timothy Ellis.
He died in 1822, and his wife died in 1796.
In his old age, his farm was managed by his son-in-law Luther Green.
The house known as the George Newell residence for many years, and later destroyed in a fire, was built by Amos Richardson soon after 1800.
It was in this house that William Taylor Adams, famous as author Oliver Optic was born in 1822.
His mother, Catherine Johnson Adams of Boston was visiting either David Johnson or Ede or Deborah, his sisters, wives of two Richardson sons.
She did not expect confinement so soon, but her child arrived here, so Medway can claim to be the birthplace of this famous writer.
|Ursula||1766-||m. 1788 Amos Clark|
|Abigail||1768-||m. (1st) 1790 Luther Green|
|m. (2nd) 1829 Dea Joseph Ware|
|Phebe||1774-||m. 1802 David Johnson|
|Esther||1776-||m. 1800 Ezra Daniell|
|Amos||1778-1810||m. 1803 Ede Johnson|
|Artemas||1780-||m. 1805 Deborah Johnson|
Note: From Medway Vital Records - Marriages: Widow Ede Richardson & James M. Lindsay, Intentions of Marriage August 21, 1816. "Forbidden by said Widow Ede Richardson five days after."
Seth-5 (Seth-4, John-3, John-2, Robert-1) Mason, born in the Dover district of Dedham in 1749, came to the New Grant in 1767 as an apprentice.
He married Olive Feltt of Dedham in 1771.
He died at Ticonderoga in 1776 in the Revolution.
His widow, who supported herself and her children as a weaver, married Silas Adams of Bellingham in 1794.
Jeremiah Littlefield, born in 1736, son of Peletiah of Holliston, bought a part of the David Wheaton farm near Henry Morse in Mucksquit at North Medway in 1767.
He married Elizabeth, daughter of Joseph Barber, in 1768.
Elizabeth died in 1778, and Jeremiah married second, in 1780, Elizabeth Averel in 1780.
Morse says that Mr. Littlefield bought David Wheaton's "third house," and 10 acres of land at the southwest corner of Rockwood (George Barber lot).
In 1790, Littlefield sold to Samuel Cleaveland, Cleaveland sold to Jonathan Brick (Breck), and Breck married Sally Cleaveland in 1797.
Note: No further record of this family. A Jeremiah Littlefield was listed in the Hopkinton, Mass. Census of 1790 as head of family, with one male child under 16 years of age, and three females.
Hopkinton Vital Records gives several of the name who may have been connected to this Medway family.
Job-5 (Job-4, Job-3, John-2, John-1) Plimpton married Beriah Hawes in 1767. Beriah was the daughter of Ichabod Hawes, the gunsmith at Village Hill.
Job lived with his father on the Mendon road near the point where Cottage Street originally intersected Village Street.
He was a Corporal in the Revolution.
Job sold his farm of 70 acres in Medway, and partly in Franklin, to his son Job Jr., for 600 pounds in 1791.
Job Sr. died in 1814, and his widow died in 1829.
|Elizabeth||1767-||m. 1788 Nathaniel Cutler|
|Calvin||1775-1825||m. 1806 Caroline Cutler|
|Beriah||1779-||m. 1798 Nahum Hayward|
|Nathan||1781-1866||m. 1809 Prudence Metcalf|
|Olive||bp. 1775||m. 1790 Abner Merrifield|
Note: Plimpton's Bridge spanned the Charles River at what is now Shaw Street.
Eli-4 (Ichabod-3, Robert-2, Daniel-1) Pond, born in Wrentham in 1743, married Huldah ---, and in 1769, owned a dwelling on the Allen farm near the Holliston line.
In 1778, he sold the place to Philemon Metcalf, who later sold it to James Gibbs, who was living there in 1790.
Eli was a saddler, and probably chose this location to be close to Job Partridge, whose blacksmith shop was just over the line in Holliston.
Eli served in the Revolution as a Sergeant from Medway.
|Hannah||1765-||Born in Holliston|
|Hannah||1773-||Born in Medway|
|Sabin||1775-||Born in Medway|
Abijah-6 (George-5, George-4, George-3, George-2, Jonathan-1) Fairbanks, born in 1746 on the oldest settled farm in the Old Grant married in 1769 Mina Clark, born in the old tavern on the Flat, dauighter of Lt. Timothy.
Abijah was a blacksmith, and his shop stood east of the Tavern.
He was a Corporal in the Medway Company that marched on the Lexington alarm.
About 1800, he removed to Winthrop, Maine, and operated a blacksmith shop there with his son Asa.
Asa died in 1830, and his wife Mina died in 1823.
|Olive||1769-1869||m. 1790 Joseph Metcalf|
|Asa||1777-||m. 1800 Hannah Partridge|
John Albee of Mendon married Abigail Grant, and settled in North Medway at Mucksquit near the homes of Isaac and Joshua Kibbee in 1769.
His place was in the limits of the present Holliston.
His wife died in 1791, and he married second, in 1799, Huldah Thayer of Bellingham.
John died in 1821.
In later years, his descendants changed their name to Abbey, and Partridge Abbey, the last miller at the old White Mill/Sanford Mill site was a grandson.
John Albee served in the Revolution from Medway.
|Rhoda||1770-1847||m. 1799 Levi Adams, the tavern owner in the then Holliston, now the intersection of Summer, Main and Village Streets|
|Abigail||1772-||m. 1799 John Fisk|
|Deborah||1776-||m. 1799 David Barr|
|John||1781-1869||m. 1808 Mary Partridge|
|Mary||1785-||m. 1804 Joseph Rider|
|Abner||1788-||m. 1810 Hepzibah Perry|
John Gould, born in Holliston in 1746, son of Benjamin and Elizabeth, married Esther Clark, daughter of Nathaniel of Mucksquit, in 1770.
He lived on the Mendon road, near the Ellis and Allen places.
Mr. Gould served in the Revolution, and died in 1776.
|Solomon||1769-||m. 1792 Persis Whitney|
|Esther||1773-||m. 1791 Benjamin Cheney|
Lt. Jonathan Holbrook of Bellingham married Ann Partridge, adopted daughter of Seth Partridge, in 1771.
They inherited the place at "Moon's Corner", the present intersection of Winthrop and Hill Streets.
Jonathan served in the Revolution.
He was a blacksmith, as was his son Partridge, who succeeded him in ownership of the place, selling out later to George Blake, the fourth blacksmith at this old stand.
Jonathan died in 1793.
|Molly||1772-||m. 1789 Jacob Cutler|
|Partridge||1774-||m. 1795 Alice Fisher|
Lt. Eli Pond of Wrentham, son of Ichabod, born in 1743, bought an estate at Holliston from Joseph Hill in 1767, and resided there a short time.
In 1769, he bought land in Medway of Amos Ellis and lived there until 1778, at which time he sold his homestead of 8 acres and his house, to Philemon Metcalf, and removed to Bellingham.
He lived in that town for about 5 years, and removed to Franklin, where he died.
He married Huldah Hill in Medway in 1764. She was born in 1745.
Eli died in Franklin in 1802. His wife Huldah died there in 1818.
Eli and Huldah's first six children were born in the New Grant, and the last ones in Bellingham and Franklin, indicating he removed around 1778.
Sergeant and later Lieutenant Eli Pond of Medway served in the Revolution.
|Huldah||1765-1828||m. 1791 Abner Wight, Milford|
|Hannah||1767-1840|| m. 1787 Samuel Rockwood of Holliston.
Res. Oakham, Mass
|Lovisee||1771-1843|| m. Daniel Rockwood of Holliston.
Res. Otswego, NY
|Ede||1777-1846||m. Ebenezer Blake of Walpole.|
|Eliab||1779-1802||Born Bellingham, died Franklin, unmarried|
|Betsey||1784-1853|| Born Franklin; m. 1803 Sylvanus Holbrook.
Res. Goshen, Conn.
|Lucinda||1787-1863|| Born Franklin, m. 1809 Eliakim Morse.
Died Oakham, Mass.
Dr. Aaron-5 (Jonathan-4, Jonathan-3, Samuel-2, Thomas-1) Wight was born in Medfield in 1741.
He served in the French and Indian War, from Medfield.
He became very ill in New York state, and was nursed back to health by an Indian squaw whom he ever afterward called his "Indian mother." In after years, he went to New York to visit her.
He ran a smallpox hospital in Medfield in 1776, and served in the Revolution.
He settled in Mucksquit in North Medway on Lot No. 27, West Section, on the now Winthrop Street.
The land lay in Medway and Holliston, and was owned by Nathan Bullard who had a dwelling at what is now the intersection of Winthrop and Hill Streets.
In 1785, Dr. Wight bought an additional 6 acres from James Barber.
Dr. Wight's first house is no longer in existence, but his second one, afterward owned by John Pond, dates from 1800, and now stands at 116 Winthrop Street.
Dr. Wight was apparently an excellent physician, having served as a physician in his military service, and was also a rather eccentric person.
Many stories are told of his escapades, such as erecting branches in eerie fashions on his front wall. He was an accomplished violinist, and furnished music for many events locally.
An old diary notes that when Dr. Aaron had his leg amputated without anesthesia, he played his violin before and after the operattion to show his virility.
The Doctor was married three times; first, in Andover, Mass., in 1767 to Mary Kittredge, who died in 1772.
He married second, in 1773, Nancy Marshall.
His third wife was Mary Haven, who he married in 1774.
A gravestone in the old burying ground in West Medway gives the date of a Jemima, wife of Dr. Aaron Wight, who died in 1832, aged 66, but Medway Vital Records notes Jemima as Aaron's third wife.
Dr. Wight died in 1813, "husband of Jemima."
|Molly||1768-||m. 1784 Daniel Eames, Jr.|
|Patty||1773-||m. 1797 Moses Richardson, Jr.|
|Mine (Mima)||1782-||m. 1803 Lt. William Green|
|Caty||1782-||m. 1802 Joseph Robbins|
|Betsey||1784-||m. 1803 Dr. Samuel Sanford|
|Sally (Salley)||1785-||m. 1803 Alexander Thayer|
|Charlotte||1788-1833||m. 1810 Elihu Partridge|
|Moses Haven||1792-1869||m. 1817 Dorcas Gladding|
|Joanna||1794-1867||m. 1815 Joseph Needham|
Note: The "Mine" or Mima" may be the "Jemima" baptized 25 Sep 1825. A William Green died in 1825, and this William may have been Jemima's husband. The coincidence of dates is interesting.
Rev. David-5 (David-4, Samuel-3, Ephraim-2, Thomas-1) Sanford, born in New Milford, Connecticut in 1737, and graduated from Yale University in 1755.
He married Bathsheba Ingersoll of Great Barrington, Massachusetts in 1757, where he resided for some years, and where most of his children were born.
In 1772, he became Pastor of the Second Church in the New Grant.
He resided in the house of Rev. David Thurston, his predecessor, on Drybridge Hill.
David Sanford was a man of fine ministerial presence, and strong personal and religious convictions. In 1776, he served as Chaplain in Col. Robinson's Regiment.
In 1779 he was a delegate to the Constitutional Convention at Cambridge. He was active in drawing up the Constitution that the voters of Medway unanimously accepted the following year.
In 1782, his church became estranged from the First Church in the Old Grant, a breach that was not healed until Dr. Ide's pastorate commenced in 1814, four years after the death of Mr. Sanford, and seven years after Mr. Sanford's ministry ended.
In the Great Revival of 1785, nearly 100 members were added to the church on profession of faith.
Mr. Sanford suffered a paralytic stroke in 1807 that incapacitated him, and he died in 1810.
His wife Bathsheba died in 1800.
|David||1760-1841||m. 1780 Hannah Thompson, Great Barrington|
|Philo||1761-1835||m. 1784 Lydia Whiting|
|Clarissa||1763-1850||m. 1793 Rev. John Morse, Green River, NY|
|Elihu||1766-||m. 1792 Hannah Metcalf, Oxford, Mass.|
|Bathsheba||1770-1835||m. 1793 Rev. Ethan Smith, Haverhill, NH|
|Moses||1775-||Became a lawyer|
|Electa||1778-1838||Died in the almshouse|
|Samuel||1780-||m. 1803 Betsey Wight|
Ralph Mann, a grandson of Rev. Samuel Mann, was born in Wrentham in 1728.
In 1769, he, with his father, bought 80 acres between the Allen farm, Eli Pond, and William Ellis, probably the Lovell grant, or a portion of it.
In 1772, he married Rhoda Metcalf, who died in 1779, and he married second, in 1783, Eunice Partridge, daughter of Timothy of Mucksquit.
In 1773, Ralph's father gave him a deed to 130 acres bounded south and west by Ellis and Allen land.
His son and namesake "Rafe" Mann kept store in West Medway, and among other transactions, supplied the items for Dr. Ide's ordination in 1814.
His bill to the Second Church Society was as follows:
Singing Society to Ralph Mann, Jr., Dr.
3 qts Wine $ 1.87
1 qt. Brandy .62
3 qts Rum 1.87
2 lbs Sugar .80
3 pans cake 1.08
Ralph Mann, Jr.
No doubt the choir sang with great spirit.
After his death in 1820, Ralph Mann's farm was managed by his son-in-law Zenas Brigham.
Brigham Lane, now Country Lane, was named for Zenas, and a cellar hole at the corner of Village Street and Brigham Lane marked the site of his dwelling for many years.
|Chloe||1773-||m. 1799 Jotham Littlefield|
|Rhoda||1775-||m. 1796 Hezekiah Adams|
|Ralph||1777-1848||m. 1813 Eunice Clark|
|David P.||1784-||m. 1809 Jerusha Partridge|
|Timothy||1787-||m. 1815 Susan Dean|
|Elias||1789-1822||m. 1819 Abigail Bowman|
|Eunice||1799-1830||m. 1827 Zenas Brigham|
........Ralph Mann - A patriarch indeed.......
Samuel Bullen, origin and birthplace unknown, married Elizabeth Legg in 1773, and settled on Village Hill on the old Theophilus Clark place.
He was a clothier, and started the business of carding wool into rolls, a craft carried on for many years by his successor, George Barber.
In 1780, Samuel bought most of the land of Josiah Fuller, and thereby owned well down to the Bent bridge.
Asa Fuller owned Bullen's 1782 dwelling, and Fuller was its last occupant.
The house burned around 1800 while Asa Fuller was occupying it, and for nearly 30 years, the cellar hole remained to mark the site of the first dwelling in Medway Village. the 1930's, a Ryan family occupied a house built on the location of the old Bullen place.
In 1785, Mr. Bullen sold half of his interest in his mill to Job Harding.
Samuel Bullen was called Captain, and served in the Revolution.
|Rhoda||1774-||m. 1796 William Remington|
|Moses||1775-||Had children in Medway|
|Nancy||1782-||m. 1807 Isaac Gates|
|Elizabeth||1780-||m. 1801 John Vial|
Samuel Cleveland born in Walpole in 1743, married Molly Daniels, daughter of Moses of the Old Grant in 1773.
He settled in Mucksquit in North Medway.
In 1788, Nathaniel Clark deeded 60 acres, house and barn to Molly Cleveland, wife of Samuel, property bounded on the west by the Pond Road, east by Abner and Henry Morse.
This would place them on the old Frairy lot.
Samuel served in the Revolution, and he and his wife died in 1821.
|Polly||1775-||m. 1797 Jonathan Brick|
|Moses||1778-||m. 1800 Molly Newton|
Stephen-5 (Obidiah-4, John-3, Edward-2, Henry-1) Adams, born in the New Grant in 1729, lived and died in the place where he was born.
Obidiah's house was on Adams Street, north side, about halfway between Winthrop and Summer Streets, a site now marked by some lilacs and bushes, and for many years was known as the Groehl place.
In 1773, Stephen married Molly Littlefield.
He served in the Revolution.
Stephen Adams was the father of Laban Adams who ran the famous Lamb Tavern in Boston and later started the well-known Adams House.
He was the grandfather of author William T. Adams - Oliver Optic - and has many notable descendants.
When tea was prohibited in the Bay Colony, Stephen's wife had some of the contraband. She so desired some that one day she took some boiling water to the attic of her house, brewed some of the tabooed luxury, and quietly drank it.
The chair that she used in the family pew in the old meeting house was given to the Medway Historical Society by
Herbert Hixon, and bears the initials M A cut in the back.
Stephen Adams died in 1795, and his widow died in 1813.
|Sarah||1773-1831||m. 1795 Jesse Coombs of Bellingham|
|Ezra||1775-1839||m. 1799 Nabby Partridge|
|Stephen||1776-1854||m. 1800 Catherine Partridge|
|Jotham||1778-1864||m. 1802 Sarah Littlefield|
|Eli||1779-||m. (1st) 1801 Esther Harding|
|m. (2nd) 1815 Roxy Williams|
|Mary||1781-1805||m. 1803 Moses Hill, Bellingham|
|Laban||1785-1849||m. 1809 Catherine Johnson|
Note: Stephen Adams, born 1776, built and lived in the Herbert Hixon place, now 207 Main Street. He was a cabinet and coffin maker, and his shop was in the west part of the first floor of the house.
Joel-4 (James-3, John-2, John-1) Partridge, born 1748, married in 1774, Waitstill Morse, daughter of Ezekiel near Winnekeening at Winthrop's Pond.
Joel lived in the home place on Coffee Street, and was a Corporal in the Revolution.
He served as a Selectman.
He died in 1823, his widow in 1825.
|Ezekiel||1775-||m. 1800 Deborah Harding|
|Abigail||1777-||m. 1799 Ezra Adams|
|Catherine||1779-||m. 1800 Stephen Adams|
|Tamar||1781-||m. 1804 Job Partridge|
|Joel||1784-||m. (1st) Sarah Clark|
|m. (2nd) Joanna Sanford|
|Jerusha||1787-||m. 1809 David Mann|
|Ede||1789-1824||m. 1809 Nathaniel Clark|
Joel-5 (Ichabod-4, Daniel-3, Daniel-2, Edward-1) Hawes, born at the home on Village Hill in 1757, married in 17777, Judith Clark, daughter of Nathaniel, of Mucksquit.
Judith died two years later, and Joel marrried second, in 1788, Phila Thayer.
Joel lived in Medway until 1802, when he sold his place to George Barber, and moved to Brookfield, Mass.
He was a soldier in the Revolution.
His son Lewis settled here, and lived and died on the Rev. Daniel Pond place on the Mendon road.
Joel, the first son by his second wife was an apprentice to Major Luther Metcalf in his cabinet shop. He studied for the ministry, and became the renowned Rev. Joel Hawes, D.D. of Hartford, Connecticut.
In 1838, he returned to Medway to preach the sermon at the dedication of the Village Church.
|Judith||1787-||Adopted by Nathan Harding|
Eliakim-6 (Eleazer-5, Eleazer-4, John-3, Edward-2, Henry-1) Adams, born in Holliston in 1756, married in 1777, Bathsheba Metcalf, who died in 1799.
He married second, in 1801, Hannah Bullard.
He lived in the later Plimpton place on Summer Street.
He served in the Revolution, rose to rank of General in the militia, and served many terms as Selectman in Medway.
It is said that two of his sons ran away from home due to his militaristic manner.
Eliakim died in 1807, and his widow died in 1811.
|Christopher||1784-1827||m. 1814 Sally Smith|
|Bathsheba||1786-1867||m. 1803 Hamlet Barber, Bellingham|
|Sabra||1790-1873||m. 1816 Ezekiel Bates, Bellingham|
|Metcalf||1794-1862||Clerk of the Adams House, Boston|
|Almira||1802-1882||m. 1823 Joshua Stetson, Walpole|
|Wales H.||1804-1847||m. 1833 Polly Waterman|
Thomas-6 (Thomas-5, David-4, John-3, Edward-2,
Henry-1) Adams, born 1754, married in 1777, Suzanne Clark, a near neighbor. She died in 1789, and Thomas married second, in 1790, Meletiah Partridge, widow of Nathan Partridge of Bellingham.
He was called Captain.
He lived on the northwest of his father's farm at the present Summer and Lovering Streets, the later Charles A. Wilson place.
After 1803, Thomas Adams sold his place to Malachi Bullard, the housewright, and moved to Barre, Mass.
Thomas Adams died in Barre in 1840, and Meletiah died there in 1818, aged 63.
Paul-6 (Timothy-5, Timothy-4, Samuel-3, Thomas-2, John-1) Ellis, born 1758, married in 1779, Mercy (Mary) Clark.
They had one child born in Medway, and all records regarding the family cease.
Note: The Massachusetts Census of 1790 gives a record of a Paul Ellis living in Royalston with wife and five children.
Asa-5 (Asa-4, James-3, John-2, Joseph-1) Clark, born 1758, married in 1779, Lois Barber, daughter of Joseph, the gravestone cutter.
They had no children recorded in Medway.
Asa moved to Royalston, Mass., and in 1820, his children living in Floyd, New York, applied for his share in his father's estate.
Asa was not living at that time.
|Lois||Unmarried in 1820|
|Levina||m. Elijah Wilcox|
|Rebecca||m. Joshua Ward|
|Betsy||m. Elmer Bavins|
Moses Feltt, son of Moses in Dedham, baptized in Dedham in 1749, came to the house of Samuel Bullen in 1779 and was promptly warned out of town.
He remained here, and married Abigail Daniels in 1797.
Around 1800, he built the house on Village Street later the Sarah Woodward place nearly opposite Sanford Street.
He was a Selectman, a devoted member of the Second Church in West Medway, and an early superintendent of the Sunday School.
He died in 1833, and soon afterward, his place was sold to William Fuller.
|William||1799-1849||m. 1822 Mary Greenhalgh|
|Mary B||1801-||m. 1827 Henry Allen|
|Polly||m. 1821 Joseph Woodward|
Elias-5 (Nathan-4, Nathaniel-3, John-2, Nathaniel-1) Whiting, born in 1753 near the mill and meeting house on Chicken Brook, married in 1779 Susanna Hall of Hopkinton, born in 1758, daughter of Elisha and Elizabeth Hall.
He lived for a time in Medway Village, where he owned land.
In 1803, his father deeded him 55 acres of land in the village.
It was bounded east by Ichabod Hawes's line, now Peach Street.
His son David deeded land as far as the former railroad bridge at Holliston Street, and for the meeting house, now the Village Church, in 1838.
His daughter Patty, who married Asa Lincoln, owned all of the land from the mill to a line opposite Lovers Lane.
She sold the land for Sanford Hall in 1871, and in 1912, E. Cutler Wilson bought the remainder for his heirs.
In 1790, the U.S. Census puts Elias living with or near tavernkeeper Job Harding at the location of the later Quinobequin House (later the site of the New Medway Hotel) at the northeast corner of Village and Broad Streets.
|Olive||1780-||m. 1808 John Bullen|
|David||1782-||Lived in New York State|
|Susanna||1783-||m. 1814 Nathaniel Holden|
|Polly||1784-||m. 1806 Jonathan Bullard|
|Esther||1786-||m. 1809 Titus Bullard|
|Elias||1793-||m. 1812 Joanna Bullard|
|Elijah||1793-1869||Dr. Artemas Brown was his guardian.|
|Patty||1796-||m. 1815 Asa Lincoln|
Obidiah-6 (Nathan-5, Obidiah-4, John-3, Edward-2, Henry-1) Adams, born in 1758, married Abigail Harding in 1774.
Abigail died in 1793, and Obidiah married 2nd, in 1794, Experience Cutler.
He was a cooper, and manufactured all of the cider barrels used in the New Grant.
He lived on the original farm of his grandfather.
Obidiah died in 1820, and his widow died in 1845.
|Persis||1780-1849||m. 1802 Seth Hixon|
|Kezia||1783-1863||m. (1st) 1804 Daniel Miller|
|m. (2nd) 1823 Isaac Kibbey|
|Israel||1785-1829||m. 1808 Polly Johnson|
|Abigail||1787-||m. 1806 Amos Bullard|
|Obidiah||1789-1857||m. 1812 Mary Johnson|
|Candace||1792-||m. 1810 Daniel Nourse|
Peter Darling and wife Pasis lived on the Flat in Medway Village for several years.
The census of 1790 puts them between Timothy Clark and Abraham Harding near the Bent of the river.
Where they came from or went to, is not known.
James Gibbs married Charity Green in 1780.
According to the 1790 Census of Massachusetts, he lived on or near the Allen place on the north side of the Mendon Road, west of the Shumway and Mann places.
There is no record here of where James came from, where he went, or children being born.
James Gibbs married Charity Green in Medway in 1780. He died in 1807 at the age of 58, and his wife died in 1811, aged 73.
By his will, he left his place of 8 or 9 acres to a John Green who died in 1820.
In 1838, Horace Green lived there, and in later years it was owned by Sewell Kingsbury.
The location is on Village Street, beyond the Country Lane corner.
No Gibbs children were recorded in Medway.
Asa Fuller, born in Needham in 1752, son of Amos, married Meletiah Metcalf in Medway in 1780.
Meletiah was the daughter of Deacon Jonathan Metcalf.
The Census of 1790 shows Asa living on Pond Street, near Eleazer Thompson and Rev. David Sanford.
After 1800, it is believed he lived in the Samuel Bullen place on Village Hill.
He was the grandfather of two of our most prominent citizens, Asa M. B. Fuller of the New Grant, and Elihu Fuller of the East Parish.
Asa died in 1836.
|Asa M. B.||1781-1872||m. 1811 Hepzibah Blake|
|Abner||1784-1866||m. 1805 Lydia Rogers|
|Elihu||1788-1852||m. 1815 Rhoda Daniels|
|Sylvia||1791-1863||m. Jane Davis|
Note: When A. M. B. Fuller was baptized, Dr. Nathaniel Emmons asked the parents for the child's name.
"Asa Metcalf Blake Fuller," said Asa.
"Will the child live with such a name?" asked Dr. Emmons.
A. M. B. Fuller carried on a watchmaking business in the Parish House, then known as Fuller's Hall, was a Justice of the Peace, served in the Mass. legislature 1795-96, and was an influential figure in Medway.
In 1872, in his dedication speech for Sanford Hall, Dr. Theodore Fisher said,
"Just below was the Samuel Bullen House. It stood on the cellar hole still open opposite William Parson's boot shop. It was at one time occupied by Asa Fuller, wheelwright, and maker of spinning wheels. Samuel Bullen and Asa Fuller died long ago; spinning wheels are obsolete, and the old house itself is gone. Nothing remains but the cellar, choked with burdock and cellandine, good for a 'lame back' and warts."
The Dr. Fisher speech, printed in Jameson's History of Medway, is an excellent source of information on early Medway Village.
John-5 (Job-4, Henry-3, John-2, John-1) Plimpton, born in 1758, married in 1781, Rhoda Adams, daughter of Captain Moses of Mucksquit.
They lived in or near the old place on the Mendon road near Plimpton's Bridge at what is now Shaw Street.
In 1790, Rhoda and her children were living here with John's father, so Job had died before this.
John Plimpton served in the Revolution from Medway.
Phinehas-6 (John-5, Eleazer-4, John-3, Ens. Edward-2, Henry-1) Adams, son of John and Silence (Clark) Adams was born in Brookfield, Mass., in 1760..
Jameson's record of this Adams line in his History of Medway is incorrect.
It was Phinehas-6 who married Patience Pond, daughter of Moses and Patience Pond of Wrentham in 1780, not Phineas-5 who was born in Medway c. 1737, son of Phineas and Sarah (Kingsbury) Adams.
In 1790, Phinehas Adams was living in the New Grant next to Gen. Eliakim Adams on Summer Street.
|Asahel||1781-1855||d. unmarried, res. Milford|
|Barzillai||1784-1828||m. (1st) 1814 Polly Barber|
|m. (2nd) 1831 Susan Currier, Salem, NH|
|Phinehas Jr||1789-1876||m. 1811 Sarah Barber|
|Patience||1792-1886||m. 1810 Amos Shumway|
|Willard||1794-1865||m. 1821 Eliza Piper, Waltham|
|Lowell||1796-1852||m. 1822 Jane Brown|
|Silence C.||1801-1872||m. 1822 Daniel Balch|
Note: Phinehas Jr., who married Sarah Barber was a hotel keeper in Boston and Methuen, Mass., and Nashua, NH, and started the first power loom in America. He died in Nashua, and is buried in Holliston.
Abner-7 (Ezekiel-6, Henry-5, Joseph-4, Joseph-3, Joseph-2, Samuel-1) Morse, born in 1759 in his father's place 1/4 mile southwest of Winthrop's Pond on a lot of 177 acres married Mille Lealand of Holliston in 1781.
He lived in the ancestral home .
He was a noted conveyancer, served as Selectman and State Representative, and Justice of the Peace.
|Nabby||1783-||m. 1809 Uriel Cutler|
|Elijah||1785-1831||m. Mary Jackson|
|Mille||1789-1851||m. 1810 Alexander Jones|
|Chloe||1791-||m. Lemuel Leland|
|Abner||1793-1865||m. (1st) Sarah Vorhees|
|m. (2nd) Hannah Peck|
|Betsey||1796-1853||m. 1817 Seneca Wright|
|Thomas J.||1801-||m. 1839 Lucy Leland|
Note: Abner Morse, born in Mucksquit in 1793, was a pioneer among town historians.
His "Morse Genealogy," "History of Sherborn and Holliston," and "Early Puritans of Sherborn, Holliston and Medway" are monuments to his zeal, for printed vital records, available today, were unknown in his day, and all data had to be copied out of unindexed town record books.
He was partial to Sherborn and Holliston, and cared little for the town he was born in. This is quite understandable, as his affiliations were with familes living in the Winthrop Pond area, all within Holliston.
Unlike Jameson, Abner Morse's work reflects his diligence and accuracy, and provides invaluable reference material for students of our local history.
Luther-6 (Joseph-5, Michael-4, Eleazer-3, Michael-2, Michael-1) Metcalf, born in Wrentham West Precinct in 1756, married Mercy Whiting, daughter of Nathaniel Whiting Jr., in 1781.
He was left an orphan at the age of twelve, and was apprenticed to Elisha Richardson of Latic, a well-known cabinet maker.
Luther served in the Revolution from Medway as a Major, and after his marriage, settled on a part of the original Whting land.
At first he lived in a one-story house which in 1792 was moved half-way down Village Hill, where it still stands, on the edge of the banks of the Charles River, behind 121 Village Street.
At one time this old house was a bake shop, and is now a residence.
In the same year - 1792 - the Major built his fine mansion on the site of the old house, and this is now the Village Inn.
He was a cabinet maker and employed many apprentices, whom he boarded at his house and shop, and in 1840, he moved his shop some distance west, where it was owned by E. Cutler Wilson, and is still a Wilson place.
With his brother-in-law Philo Sanford, he managed the Whiting grist mill for nearly twenty-five years.
Major Metcalf was one of the first incorporators of the Medway Cotton Manufacturing Co., and later was a principal owner. The second mill on this site, the Sanford, and later Fabyan Woolen mill, built after the fire of 1883, is now a condominium.
Luther Metcalf filled many town offices, and was active in the affairs of the West Precinct.
His wife Mercy died in 1826, and he married the same year Hannah, widow of John Fisher of Latic who survived him twenty-five years.
Major Metcalf died in 1838.
|Luther||1788-1873||m. (1st) Lydia Jenks|
|m. (2nd) 1828 Sarah Phipps|
|Clara||1784-1853||m. 1807 Joel Hunt|
Note: The October, 1959 issue of "Opportunities in American Antiques" issued by the firm of Israel Sack of New York, contains an illustration and description of a 1796 Luther Metcalf tall clock, with a case made by Ichabod Sanford, son of Rev. David and Bathsheba (Ingersoll) Sanford. At that time, Ichabod was a an employee of Major Luther Metcalf, and later moved to Belchertown, Mass.
Abel-5 (John-4, Samuel-3, John-2, John-1) Ellis, born in the Old Grant in 1758, married Jemima Jones, daughter of Thomas and Bethia, in 1781.
The Census of 1790 puts Abel on the Mendon Road, near the Daniel Pond place.
His was not a long stay in Medway.
|Amos||1787-||m. 1804 Lydia Phillips|
Samuel Tamblin, son of Seth and Susanna, was born in Holliston in in 1760, and married Margaret Adams in Medway in 1782.
He lived on the Barber lot near Moses and Isaac Rockwood, and was in Medway only a few years after 1790.
John-6 (John-5, John-4, Abraham-3, Abraham-2, John-1) Harding, born on the Harding farm in 1757, married Beulah Metcalf in 1782.
He was one of Medway's most solid citizens in precinct and town, served as a Selectman for several years, and was called Captain.
In 1814, some 200 guests were seated and served at tables at his farm and that of Captain Moses Adams, at the time of the ordination of Rev. Jacob Ide.
He died in 1833, his widow in 1839.
His place was left to his son Rev. Sewall Harding of the First Church.
|Hepzibah||1784-||m. 1806 Alexander Leland|
|Alpheus||1787-||m. 1812 Abigail Chamberlain|
|Beulah||1790-||m. 1811 Loammi Littlefield|
|Sewall||1793-||m. 1820 Eliza Wheeler|
Note: A story about the Harding place, that was told in Medway, concerns a young man who sought the hand of Hepzibah Harding; it is said that when Hepzibah announced her betrothal to Alexander Leland, her anguished suitor hung himself with yarn strands in the Harding barn.
Kate Sanborn, authoress, brought fame to the old Harding farm when she wrote about it in her book "Adopting an Abandoned Farm," calling the place "Breezy Meadows."
Nathaniel Kimball, of Gloucester, Rhode Island, came to the New Grant in 1782, and was taken in by Moses Rockwood of Mucksquit.
In 1794, he married Abigail Disper, and built a little house on the hill between the Curtis and Richardson farms on Holliston Street.
He was prominent in the organization of the Baptist Church and Society, and his son Wales was for many years a Deacon there.
|Wales||1809-1898||m. 1829 Elizabeth Blake|
Lt. Ellis Hayward, son of Deacon Samuel on the Elisha Bullard place on Holliston Street, married Beulah Partridge daughter of Moses of Mucksquit, in 1782.
He died the next year, and a posthumous daughter was born in 1784.
His widow married Daniel Fisk in 1788.
Philemon Metcalf deeded 8 acres of land with a house and barn to James Gibbs.
The property was bounded north by the County Road, west by Widow Mary Allen, south and east by Ralph Mann.
Elijah-5 (Timothy-4, Benoni-3, John-2, John-1) Partridge, born in 1762, inherited his father's place near the Mucksquit Schoolhouse, later the North Medway school at Partridge and Winthrop Streets.
In 1785, he married Keziah Curtis, daughter of Joseph, who died in 1795.
Elijah married second, in 1798, Catherine Clark, daughter of his near neighbor James Clark.
Elijah died in 1805.
He built the house now standing at Partridge and Winthrop Streets, later the Edward Whiting place.
|Rachel||1785-||m. 1809 Daniel Leland, Jr.|
|Timothy||1789-1827||m. 1810 Charlotte Adams|
|Catherine||1801-1846||m. 1830 Moses Adams, Jr.|
|Elijah||1805-||m. 1839 Ruth Adams|
Note: Elijah's widow Catharine married Moses Pond, Jr., in 1811. They had three children, and Catherine died in 1839.
Benjamin Parnal married Abigail Richardson, daughter of Amos of Holliston Street, in 1783.
It is not known where he came from, but between 1787 and 1790, he was living with or near Samuel Fisher.
His son Daniel moved to Bellingham in 1815.
Benjamin died in 1831, and his wife died in 1830.
|Sabra||1785||m. 1809 Peter Woodward|
|Daniel R.||1792||m. 1815 Mary Mason|
Jeremiah-4 (Joseph-3, Joseph-2, Ephraim-1) Curtis, born in 1758 on the "Joe Curtis place," married Sarah Greenwood of Sherborn in 1783.
He kept the 101 acres of his grandfather at the present Hill and Holliston Streets intact, and was a successful farmer and respected citizen.
Jeremiah died in 1804, and Sarah, his widow, died in 1828.
|Joseph||1787-1878||m. 1813 Annis Clark|
|Sarah||1790-||m. 1809 Seth Allen|
|Jesse||1792-||m. 1813 Lydia Allen, Holliston|
|Jonas||1799-1824||m. 1824 Alma Bullard, Holliston|
|Axia (Achsah)||1808-1866||m. 1826 Simeon Clark|
In 1783, Philemon Metcalf deeded 8 acres south of the Mendon Road to James Gibbs of Franklin.
The land was bounded west by Widow Mary Allen, east by Ralph Mann, and had a dwelling house and barn.
Levi-6 (George-5, George-4, George-3, George-2, Jonathan-1) Fairbanks, born on the original place in the Old Grant in 1759, married Molly Fuller of Wrentham in 1784.
In 1790, he was living in a place on the Mendon Road, and after 1792, he removed to Wrentham, where his last child was born.
He died there in 1798, and his widow made application to Medway for aid.
His grandson, George Otis Fairbanks was Mayor of Fall River, Mass., in 1868.
|Otis||1785-1879||m. 1814 Sylvia Fuller|
|Sally||1787-||m. 1804 Robert Smith|
Simeon-5 (Moses-4, Benoni-3, John-2, John-1) Partridge, born in 1760, married Jerusha White in 1784.
They lived in the George Lawrence place, previously referred to, near the North Medway schoolhouse site.
Simeon died in 1832. Jerusha's death is not recorded in Medway.
|Elihu||1787-1848||m. 1810 Charlotte Wight|
Philo-6 (David-5, David-4, Samuel-3, Samuel-2, Thomas-1) Sanford, born in Great Barrington, Mass., before his father moved to the New Grant, married Lydia, daughter of Nathaniel Whiting, Jr., in 1784.
He lived in the original Whiting place near the river until 1811 when the house burned.
He then built the present Sanford mansion on Sanford Street.
He was a co-partner with Luther Metcalf in the grist mill, and was an original incorporator of the Medway Cotton Manufacturing Co.
He served in the Revolution, was a staunch member of the Parish, and served on the first School Committee in Medway.
He died in 1835. His wife died the year previous.
|Nathaniel||1785-||Resided in New York|
|David (Rev.)||1801-||m. (1st) 1828 Sarah P. Daniels|
|m. (2nd) 1861 Adeline P. Patrick|
|Joanna||1789-||m. 1820 Joel Partridge|
|Sewell||1791-||m. 1812 Edna Holbrook|
|Bathsheba||1793-||m. Horace Holden|
|Lydia||1795-||m. 1815 Rev. William Eaton|
|Stephen||1797-||m. 1828 Maria A. Fisher|
|Clarissa||1799-||m. 1829 Rev. Levi Packard|
Comfort-5 (Comfort-4, Caleb-3, Ebenezer-2, Philip-1) Walker, born in 1765 in Reboth, Mass., came to Medway and settled on the Flat as a wheelwright and millwright in 1785.
In 1789, he married Tamar Clark, daughter of Timothy at the old tavern stand.
Soon after, Comfort built the house known for years as the Rev. James McGinnis place, and formerly, the Eaton place.
Comfort had a turning mill on the Franklin side of the river a little way up from the Red Mill dam.
This mill was swept away in the freshet of 1807, and landed in Populatic Pond.
He was one of the original incorporators of the Medway Cotton Manufacturing Co.
He owned mills in Medway, Rockville, Wrentham and Framingham at various times.
He was the active in the start of the Village Church in 1838, and was one of the largest contributors to it.
His wife Tamar died in 1813, and he married second, the same year, Peggy Whiting of Wrentham, daughter of John and Lois Whiting.
Peggy died in 1834, and Comfort married in the same year the Widow Mary Harding whose husband Seth drowned in 1825.
Comfort Walker died in 1840.
|Amy||1790-||m. 1817 Ebenezer Eaton, Framingham|
|Dean||1793-1875||m. (1st) 1814 Rebecca Wight|
|m. (2nd) 1865 Susan Symonds|
|Clark||1795-1884||m. 1819 Sarah Lovering|
|Tamar||1797-1890||m. 1828 Orion Mason|
|Timothy||1801-||m. (1st) 1824 Louisa Turner|
|m. (2nd) 1867 Sarah Warfield|
|Elmira||1803-1827||m. 1824 Orion Mason|
|Clarissa||1805-||m. 1831 Rev. Gilbert Fay|
|Mary||1808-||m. 1835 Charles Wheeler|
|Lois||1810-||m. 1833 Rev. Varnum Noyes|
Note: Comfort Walker owned most of the holdings of Lt. Timothy Clark, and many other parcels of land in Medway and Wrentham, and at one time, he owned the Eagle Mills in Wrentham near Lake Pearl.
He bought a mill in Framingham that his son Dean managed, and he bought the Asa P. Richardson Mill privilege in Rockville.
The coach lace industry was started in this country in 1823 by Comfort and Dean Walker, and was continued by Royal Southwick in a water-powered shop located adjacent to the present dwelling at 19 Winthrop Street.
After Mr. Southwick gave up the business, the Crowther family came from England and made lace for many years in the building that was torn down by Timothy Partridge in 1876.
Job-6 (Abraham-5, Abraham-4, Abraham-3, Abraham-2, John-1) Harding, bought half of the fulling mill of Samuel Bullen at the Bent of the river in 1785.
The following year, he bought 10 acres of land of Joel Hawes on the brow of Village Hill, and he married Dorcas Reed in the same year.
Job's house was sold in 1786 to William Feltt, who kept a store and post office in it.
It formed half of a tavern until 1847, when the Quinobequin House was built as a lodging place and tavern.
The old tavern was cut in half, and the two halves now serve as dwellings on the south side of North Street at Peach Street.
The Quinobequin, and its successor the Mansion House burned, and the New Medway Hotel was built on the site in 1900.
The hotel, now much changed, with its round towers and a third story removed still stands at the corner of Broad and Village Streets, opposite the town hall.
In 1799, Job Harding sold his properties and moved to Maine where he practiced medicine.
Samuel-5 (Jonathan-4, John-3, Peter-2, Peter-1)Twiss, born in Danvers, Mass., 1757, son of Rev. Jonathan and Elizabeth (Chapman) Twiss, came here from Salem in 1785, and married the same year, Lydia White, daughter of William White who accomplished the interior finish carpentry on the meeting house.
Samuel lived on the Rockwood Lot on Winthrop Street on land purchased from Peter Wight.
Two legal notices in recent years published in Dedham give his farm as a boundary.
Around the time of the first World War, and into the 1930's, there was an abattoir at the west end of the Twiss property, owned by the Katzeff family who had a popular butcher shop in Ashland, the Whitney Beef Company, on the site of the present Shaw's supermarket.
Samuel Twiss died in 1839, and his widow died in 1843.
|Nathan||bp. 1788-||m. 1816 Abigail Harding, widow of Alpheus|
|Salle||bp. 1789-||died before 1819|
Note: In 1786, Asa Fuller sold 50 acres, with buildings, to "Samuel Twiss of Franklin, ship joiner," for the sum of 200 pounds. This was part of the later Twiss place.
Joseph-6 (Joseph-5, Michael-4, Eleazer-3, Michael-2, Michael-1) Metcalf, born in Franklin in 1765, came to Medway in 1785, and worked in the cabinet shop of his brother Luther.
In 1789, he moved to Winthrop, Maine, and built a shop.
He returned to Medway in 1790, and married Olive Fairbanks, daughter of Abijah, the blacksmith at the old tavern stand.
Joseph had made all of his patterns, and many of his tools at his brother Luther's shop, and finally determined to return to Maine and engage in business.
It took two weeks to move his goods, tools, bride and himself by sailing vessel to the new house he had built.
He died in 1849, and his widow died in 1868.
Three of Job's grandaughters returned to Medway to live.
James Johnson, born in 1757 in Holliston, married 1st, in 1781, Tabitha Partridge, daughter of Moses, who died soon afterward, and he married 2nd, in 1785, Rebecca Barber, daughter of Joseph, the gravestone cutter.
In 1790, James was living with his father-in-law on Barber's Lane.
|Polly||1786-1828||m. 1808 Israel Adams|
James Richardson of Franklin married Hannah Hayward, daughter of Deacon Samuel on Holliston Street in 1785.
Hannah died in 1789, only 28 years old,, and James married 2nd, in 1789, Sarah Eames of Holliston.
He lived for a few years on the Hayward place, then bought a farm on the Mendon Road on one of the Garnsey lots.
Eleazer-6 (Moses-5, Eleazer-4, Ebenzer-3, John-2, John-1) Thompson, born at the Drybridge Hill place in 1760, married Prudence Richardson of Franklin Latic section in 1786.
His later years were spent in that town where he died in 1812, and Prudence died there in 1821.
|Julia||1787-||m. 1812 Joseph Bullard|
|Moses||1795-||m. (1st) Betsey Derry|
|m. (2nd) Rhoda Derry|
|m. (3rd) Prudence Johnson|
Isaac-3 (Seth-2, Walter-1) Hixon, born in 1762, married Elizabeth Harding, daughter of Lt. Abraham in 1787.
He built a house near that of his father on Holliston Street, known for a long time afterward as the Reynolds place.
Isaac built his house before any roads were built in his area, but assumed that any road built would be routed to the west of his dwelling.
In 1795, when the road was built from James Partridge's barn to Deacon Samuel Fisher's place, the back of his house faced the new road.
He served in the Revolution, and was one on of the last of our"old soldiers" to die.
His wife Elizabeth died in 1802, and he married 2nd, in the same year, Persis Adams.
His last child was born when he was 62 years of age, and he died in 1849, aged 87.
His widow died in 1858.
|Willard||1788-1851||m. Dorcas Bartholomew|
|Elias H.||1791-1864||m. 1819 Zebiah Leonard|
|Elihu H.||1796-1852||m. 1824 Hannah Putnam|
|Isaac||1799-1860||m. 1822 Sally Perry|
|Elizabeth||1812-||m. 1835 Henry Field|
|Ira||1817-1847||m. 1839 Caroline Cargill|
|Egbert O.||1829-1862||m. 1848 Louisa Merrill|
Note: Egbert Hixon died in the Civil War.
Dr. Isaac Brigham, born in Grafton in 1757, son of Ezekiel, married Elizabeth Frost, daughter of Rev. Amariah Frost of Milford in 1786, and moved to Medway in 1787.
He first located in Medway on the Mendon road near the Allen place.
His stay in Medway was not long, for his second child was born in Milford.
Dr. Brigham died in Milford in 1825, and his widow died there in 1829.
|Isaac||1794-||m. 1830 Welthea Donovan|
Note: Horace Brigham worked for John Claflin of Milford, who named his son Horace Brigham Claflin for him.
Horace B. Claflin was a leading merchant in New York.
Oliver-6 (Timothy-5, Timothy-4, Samuel-3, Thomas-2, John-1) Ellis, born in 1766 on the home place, and married Anna Fisher in 1787.
In 1792, his father deeded his place to him, and it descended to his grandson David Ellis, the last to live on the original homestead.
Oliver was one of our few local residents who saw service in Shay's Rebellion in 1787.
He died 1848, and his widow died in 1852.
|Simeon||1789-1872||m. 1815 Marcy Grover|
|Sylvia||m. 1810 Luther Henderson|
Calvin-6 (Jonathan-5, Jonathan-4, Nathaniel-3, Nathaniel-2, Nathaniel-1) Cutler, born in the New Grant in 1766, married Ruth Littlefield, daughter of John of Holliston, in 1787.
He lived on the Clark Travis place at Metcalf Station in Holliston.
He served on the first School Committee in Medway in 1805, and also served as Selectman.
Calvin died in 1831, and his widow died in 1835.
|Charlotte||1794-||m. 1821 Sylvester Dean|
|Amos||1799-||m. 1824 Sarah Topliff|
|Emeline||1805-||m. 1827 Rufus Bacon|
Note: Rev. Calvin Cutler of Auburndale was a grandson of Calvin. He married a daughter of Rev. David Sanford.
Abner Merrifield, born in Holliston in 1766, son of Aaron and Elizabeth, married Miranda, daughter of Rev. Daniel Pond in 1788.
They lived with Daniel Pond on the Mendon road place.
His wife died the same year of her marriage, and Abner married 2nd, in 1790, Olive, daughter of Job Plimpton, Jr.
Nathaniel-5 (Elisha-4, Nathaniel-3, Nathaniel-2, Nathaniel-1) Cutler, lived in the old Cutler place off Maple Street, and married Elizabeth Plimpton, daughter of Job, in 1788.
He, like his grandfather Nathaniel, was a Deacon in the Second Church.
His son Elisha was the builder of many of our most prestigious houses in Medway, including the Cary-White mansion, now gone, and the Beckwith-Ollendorff place now relocated on Main Street.
Deacon Nathaniel died in 1839, and his widow died in 1856.
|Elisha||1790-1868||m. 1820 Dolly Bancroft|
|Nancy||1793-||m. 1818 Mellen Battellle, Natick|
Amos-5 (Amos-4, Nathaniel-3, Nathaniel-2, Joseph-1) Clark, born in 1762, married Ursula Richardson, daughter of Amos of Holliston Street.
He lived for a time on the place settled by his grandfather, and then disappeared from our records.
Asa-3 (Seth-2, Walter-1) Hixon, born in 1768, married Polly Turner, daughter of Amos and Hannah, in 1790.
He bought the original Elisha Bullard place on Holliston Street, of the heirs of Deacon Samuel Hayward.
He built the house that remained in the Hixon family for nearly 100 years, and was later the residence of Henry Johnson.
Asa died in 1852, and his wife died in 1821.
|Mary||1799-||m. 1815 Zebinah Bullard|
|Seth||1799-1873||m. Mehitabel Barton|
|Asa (Rev.)||1800-1862||m. 1829 Charlotte Baker|
|Joanna||1804-||m. 1825 Dea. Daniel Wiley|
Samuel-5 (Dea. Edward-4, Edward-3, Benjamin-2, Joseph-1) Clark, born in Hardwick, Mass., in 1766, married Mehitable Partridge, daughter of Deacon Nathaniel Partridge in 1790. She died, and he married 2nd, in 1794, her sister Olive.
He lived in the place of his father-in-law opposite the present Lovering Heights.
He died in 1844.
|Remembrance||1798-1850||m. 1821 Lydia Pond|
|Lydia||1810-||m. 1835 David Perrigo|
Note: Deacon Edward-2 Clark married for his second wife, Anna, daughter of Rev. Nathan Bucknam of the Old Grant. In his will of 1789, Deacon Clark mentions grandchildren Samuel, Mary, and Catherine.
One source, (a diary), gives a record of a son Samuel Metcalf Clark, (1800-1818), but this is not substantiated by official records.
A gravestone in the West Medway burying ground reads "Mary Clark wife of Samuel Metcalf born 1775." She may have been the wife of Samuel Metcalf Clark.
Peter Lewitt married Susanna Richardson in Franklin in 1790, and in 1796, he came to Medway, and purchased 90 acres on Coffee Street, near Holliston Street, probably at the head of Ellis Street at Coffee Street, south side.
He died in 1821, aged 66, and his wife died in 1831, aged 74.
His son, Peter Jr., married Lucy Russell in Franklin, in 1812.
Peter Jr. apparently returned to Medway, and married here, in 1838, Almira Winslow.
|Elone||1785-1785||Born in Franklin|
|Stephen||1787-||Born in Franklin|
|Susan||m. 1814 Enoch Greely|
|Betsey||1790-||m. 1814 Lewis Gilmore|
Note: The Census of 1790 shows Peter Lewitt , head of family in Franklin, with 3 males and 1 female in family.
A Peter Lewitt is on the Medway 1797 tax list next to Asa Hixon.
A Peter Lewitt is on the first Medway List of Voters in 1801.
Thaddeus Lovering, born in Holliston in 1766, son of Thaddeus and Elizabeth, came to the New Grant with his worldly effects bundled in a kerchief.
Before his death, he was one of the wealthiest men in town.
In 1790, he married Rachel Clark, daughter of James of Lovering Street, and inherited the west half of the Clark lot.
"Squire Thad" was a power in the commnity.
He served as Selectman many times, was a noted conveyancer, and was deeply involved in the real estate business here.
He settled his three sons on well-stocked farms in the New Grant, with the bulk of his property going to sons James and Newelll. As neither of these had sons, their property went to their heirs-in-law.
James M. Daniels, a grandson, inherited most of James' property, and Uriel Cutler, a son-in-law, that of Newell.
Thaddeus and Rachel died in 1850.
|James||1791-1878||m. 1813 Lavina Edson|
|Newell||1794-1860||m. (1st) 1824 Susan White|
|m. (2nd) 1829 Eliza Rockwood|
|Joseph C||1798-1855||m. 1822 Jemima White|
Joseph-5 (Ichabod-4, Robert-3, Robert-2, Robert-1) Ware, born in Wrentham in 1761, married Esther Holbrook in 1793.
Previously, Joseph had purchased the Simon Fisher place on the Mendon road in 1790.
He was a Deacon in the Second Church.
His wife Esther died in 1808, and he married second, in 1809, in Wrentham, Mary Blake who died in 1829.
The same year, he married 3rd, Abigail Green of Medway, widow of Luther Green, Jr.
|Esther||1795-1868||m. 1831 Jonathan Adams|
|Josiah H.||1797-1883||m. 1827 Hannah G. Hale|
|David A.||1799-1868||m. 1828 Lavinia Miller|
|Asa B.||1810-1875||m. 1835 Catherine Slocumb|
|Lyman P.||1812-1869||m. 1834 Clarissa Boyden|
John-5 (Asa-4, James-3, John-2, Joseph-1) Clark, born in 1768 married Kezia Hobbs of Saco, Maine, in 1791.
He inherited the place on Lovering Street settled by his grandfather.
His son Sewell succeeded him in ownership.
John Clark died in 1836, and Kezia died in 1862 at the age of 94.
|Amos||1795-||m. 1824 Luthera Johnson|
|Willard||1794-1840||m. 1817 Melinda Johnson|
|Sewell||1798-1844||m. 1821 Sally Johnson|
Note: John Clark's son Willard lived in Medway Village, and was a prosperous boat maker and supplied a number of dories to the U. S. lifeboat stations along the New England coast.
Joseph-5 (Joseph-4, Joseph-3, Zachariah-2, George-1) Barber, born in 1768, married Chloe Haven of Framingham in 1791.
She died in 1825, and Joseph married 2nd, in 1829, Keziah Partridge of Franklin.
Joseph Barber died in 1847, and his ancestral place was owned by his son-in-law Benjamin Ward.
Thus "Barber's Lane" became "Ward's Lane" as it is today.
|Samuel||1792-||m. 1816 Sally White|
|Polly||1793-1853||m. 1814 Reuben Hixon|
|Asahel||1796-1858||m. 1818 Harriet Haven|
|Cyrus||1797-1867||m. 1826 Martha Smith|
|John H.||1801-1878||m. (1st) 1825 Eunice Smith|
|m. (2nd) 1839 Sally Newton|
|Nancy||1802-1862||m. 1820 Benjamin Ward|
John-7 (Simon-6, Samuel-5, Samuel-4, John-3, John-2, Joshua-1) Fisher, born in 1769 on the Holliston Street fram at the end of the old Middle Road (now Kelley Street) to the 1749 meeting house, married Hannah Hill in 1791.
He lived on the original farm.
He died in 1818, and his widow married Major Luther Metcalf in 1826.
She died in 1863.
|James||1793-||m. 1821 Lydia Ellis|
|Hannah||1801-1873||m. 1826 James Black|
Levi-5 (Nathaniel-4, Ebenzer-3, Nathaniel-2, Nathaniel-1) Allen, born 1766, married Hannah Ellis, a neighbor, in 1792, and they lived on the original Mendon road place.
Levi died in 1794, and Hannah died in 1847 in Milford.
|John||1793-||m. 1815 Polly Snell|
|Levi||baptized 1796 "ch. of Hannah, widow"|
Reuben-3 (Seth-2, Walter-1) Hixon born in 1765, married Ruth Gould in 1794, and the same year, bought the Rev. David Pond place on the Mendon road.
He was of an artistic temperament, a skilled violinist, and was much in demand at dances, entertainments and social functions.
He died in Bellingham in 1837, and his wife died in 1831, aged 55.
|Ellery||1797-||m. 1829 Cynthia Holbrook|
|Sarah||1803-||m. 1821 Silas Norcross|
Partridge Holbrook, son of Lt. Jonathan, born on the Seth Partridge place at Moon's Corner in 1774, married Alice Fisher, daughter of Simon of Medway Village in 1795.
Soon after 1800, he sold out to Aaron Rockwood and moved away.
The farm then passed to George Blake who ran a blacksmith shop there for many years.
Hezekiah-6 (John-5, Eleazer-4, John-3, Edward-2, Henry-1) Adams born in 1769 according to his death record, married Rhoda Mann, daughter of Ralph and Rhoda (Brown) Mann, in 1796.
Hezekiah lived on his grandfather Eleazer's place, and one of his fields was known for many years as "the 'Kiah lot."
He died in Milford in 1841, and Rhoda died there in 1849.
|Serena||1796-1870||m. 1818 Maynard Bragg, Lowell|
|Juliann||1798-1874||m. 1821Samuel Oliver, Waltham|
|Landon||1801-1857||m. 1834 Mary Leavitt, Lowell|
|Rhoda M.||1805-1865||m. 1831 Otis Skinner, Milford|
|Laura A.||1808-1871||m. 1828 Hiram Hunt, Milford|
|Sylvanus||1810-1869||m. Caroline Wasson|
|Hezekiah||1814-1850||m. 1843 Susan Mann|
|Alfred||1817-||m. 1842 Rebecca Dodge|
Timothy-5 (Nathan-4, Nathaniel-3, John-2, Nathaniel-1) Whiting born in 1767, inherited the mill and farm on Chicken Brook at the present West Medway park, near the old meeting house to the south.
He married Rhoda Bullard, daughter of Nathan and Ede of Mucksquit, in 1796.
When the Turnpike, now our unfortunately-named Main Street, came through in 1807, it just touched his southeast bounds.
A concerted effort was made in 1814 to set the new meeting house on his plain, where the Baptist Church later stood at the northeast corner of Main and Winthrop Streets, and considerable feeling was aroused when the church was situated on Rabbit Hill.
No record of Timothy or Rhoda's death has been found in Medway, although a Rhoda Bullard's death is noted here in 1805. This may or may not have been Timothy's wife.
|Timothy||1797-||m. 1828 Adeline Bullard|
|Rhoda||1798-||m. 1821 William Batchelder, Holliston|
|Nathaniel||1802-||Settled in Waltham|
Simeon-5 (Simeon-4, Nathaniel-3, Nathaniel-2, Nathaniel-1) Cutler, born in the old place on Chicken Brook in 1767, married a Lydia ---, who died in 1813.
He married second, in 1814, Nabby Brewer.
His house stood until recent years at the corner of Adams and Winthrop Street, southwest corner, and was used as a barn by J. Gardner Sanderson until it burned.
|Lucretia||1797-||m. 1822 Col. Amos Hill|
|Charlotte||1801-||m. 1820 Willard Thayer|
|Eliza B.||1815-||died young|
|Sarah||1818-||m. 1841 Joseph N. Bullard|
|Eliza B.||1822||m. 1837 George W. Fiske|
Nahum Thayer, a prosperous blacksmith, born in 1776 in Mendon, son of Stephen and Rachel, married Molly Pierce, daughter of Jonathan, in 1797 in Medway.
Nahum bought the Samuel Bullen place on the north side of the Mendon road on village hill.
He sold his property in 1809 to the White mill proprietors, and between 1810 and 1812, they built for their workers, the "White House," a large tenement now standing to the rear of the store at Village and School Streets.
Capt. Aaron-6 (Moses-5, Daniel-4, John-3, Edward-2, Henry-1) Adams, born in 1775 on the old Daniel Adams homestead on Chicken Brook, married Catherine Adams, daughter of Lt. Jonathan of the Old Grant in 1797.
He was a Captain in the militia, a Selectmen, and was active in the building of the new meeting house of 1814, and was one of the founders of the West Parish library.
He died in 1825, and his widow died in 1854.
|Moses||1798-||m. 1830 Catherine Partridge|
|Aaron||1801-1860||Lived in Dodgeville, Illinois|
|Elizabeth||1803-1889||m. 1824 Jonas Fairbanks|
|Joanna||1805-1880||m. 1830 Lyman Adams|
|Catherine||1807-1893||m. 1838 Noah Coombs|
|Jemima||1809-1839||m. 1837 Abijah Wheeler|
|Luther||1811-1845||m. 1849 Caroline Baldwin|
|Marianne||1820-1850||m. 1842 James Daniels|
John Green married Rachel Smith in 1798.
She died in 1807 aged 32, and in 1810, he married Martha Allen, his neighbor to the west.
He died in 1820, and Martha Green died in 1855.
|Sylvanus||1809-||m. 1842 Sophia Bliss|
|Horace B.||1810-1870||m. 1846 Emily Foster|
|Sabra||1812-1892||m. 1834 Lemuel Onion|
Moses-3 (Moses-2, Samuel-1) Rockwood, born in 1772, married Lois Johnson, daughter of Joseph of Holliston, in 1798.
He lived on his father's place at Winthrop's Pond, and was a noted hunter and trapper in New York state.
He died in 1854 in Medway.
|Simeon||1799-||m. 1821 Meletiah Clark|
|Hannah||1802-1854||m. 1822 George Blake|
|Calvin||1804-||m. 1828 Elizabeth Marsh|
|Eliza||1806-||m. 1829 Newell Lovering|
|Moses||1809-||m. 1841 Adeline Johnson|
Zebina-5 (Nathan-4, Samuel-3, Eleazer-2, Joseph-1) Kingsbury, born in Walpole, Mass., 1769, came to the New Grant this year, and married Elizabeth Daniels, daughter of Henry and Elizabeth of Causeway Street.
He built on this road just west of the Old Grant line.
His small one-story dwelling stood for more than a century, and three generations of the line were raised in it.
He was an ancestor of Judge Willis Kingsbury, and Sheriff William Kingsbury of Holliston.
His wife died in 1816, and he married 2nd, the same year, Mary Lackey.
Zebina died in 1848, and his widow died in 1853 aged 68. Her death record gives her place of birth as Dorchester, Mass.
|Charles||1800-1870||m. 1826 Miranda Taylor|
|Elijah||1802-1888||m. 1833 Joanna Phipps|
|Hiram||1817-1900||m. 1844 Charlotte Wight|
|Gilbert||1819-1893||m. 1849 Hannah Prescott|
Ezra-6 (Stephen-4, Obidiah-3, John-3, Edward-2, Henry-1) Adams, born in 1775, married Nabby Partridge, daughter of Joel of the Holliston Street farm.
He lived on the old Obidiah place on Adams Street.
He died in 1839, and his widow died in 1860.
|Cyrus||1800-1884||m. Mary Partridge|
|Stephen||1804-1885||m. 1828 Julia Adams|
|Ezra||1809-1864||m. 1839 Abigail Bigelow|
Malachi-6 (Isaac-5, Malachi-4, Malachi-3, Benjamin-2, Robert-1) Bullard, born in 1770 on the Bullard farm on Ellis Street, married Polly Littlefield in 1799, in Holliston.
Polly was the daughter of John and Tabitha of that town.
Soon after 1800, Malachi bought the Thomas Adams farm on the corner of Summer and Lovering Streets in West Medway.
He was a housewright, and built several meeting houses in this vicinity.
The third place of worship in the Old Grant was rebuilt by him when its unfinished steeple was blown down in the Great September Gale of 1815.
Malachi and his wife Polly both died in 1855.
|Elias||1799-||m. 1831 Persis Daniels, Holliston|
|Malachi||1816-1849||m. 1846 Sabrina Bullard|
|Appleton||1804-||m. 1833 Hepzibah Harding, Holliston|
|Hartwell||1802-||m. (1st) 1825 Alvira Pond, Holliston|
|m. (2nd) 1836 Hannah Brooks of Upton, in Holliston|